Shining City Goes Dark on Broadway July 16

News   Shining City Goes Dark on Broadway July 16
Shining City, Conor McPherson's Tony Award nominated play, ends its limited engagement at Broadway's Biltmore Theatre July 16 after 21 previews and 80 regular performances.

The Manhattan Theatre Club production, directed by Tony Award-winner Robert Falls, stars (in alphabetical order) Brían F. O'Byrne (Ian), Oliver Platt (John), Martha Plimpton (Neasa), and Peter Scanavino (Laurence).

Originally produced at London's Royal Court Theater to critical acclaim, Shining City is set in Dublin, "where a guilt-ridden man (Platt) reaches out to a therapist (O'Byrne) after seeing the ghost of his recently deceased wife. Wrestling with his own demons, the therapist can only do so much to help. Routine visits between the two men quickly become a gripping struggle to survive, changing both of them for the rest of their lives."

Platt and playwright McPherson were nominated for 2006 Tony Awards for their work in Shining City.

The small cast and the juicy character revelations in the domestic drama suggest that Shining City might have a wide life in regional theatres around the U.S.

The creative team for Shining City includes Santo Loquasto (scenic design), Christopher Akerlind (lighting design), Kaye Voyce (costume design), and Obadiah Eaves (sound design). *

Conor McPherson, author of the critical favorite The Weir, returned to Broadway with Shining City, which opened at the Biltmore Theatre on May 9 after previews from April 20.

Fans of McPherson's work are familiar with the dramatist's interest in spooky stories. A large part of The Weir consisted of the telling of various ghost stories, one more unsettling than the next. And the solo play St. Nicholas concerned a theatre critic who becomes entangled in a netherworld of vampires.

Playwright McPherson was born in Dublin in 1971. He attended University College Dublin, where he began to write and direct. His plays include Rum & Vodka, The Good Thief, This Lime Tree Bower, St Nicholas, The Weir, Dublin Carol and Port Authority. Awards for his theatre work include the Laurence Olivier Award, Evening Standard Award, Critics Circle Award, George Devine Award, Meyer-Whitworth Award and the Stewart Parker Award. He is also a screenwriter.

For more information, visit

Today’s Most Popular News: