Spamalot and Doubt Win Touring Broadway Awards

News   Spamalot and Doubt Win Touring Broadway Awards
The winners of the 2007 Touring Broadway Awards — presented by The League of American Theatres and Producers — were announced April 16 at a special ceremony at the Crowne Plaza Times Square hosted by Grey Gardens star Christine Ebersole.

The Awards, which the League established in 2000, are the first national awards to recognize touring Broadway shows. League presenters representing over 240 markets select the recipients.

This year's big winners were Monty Python's Spamalot, which was named Best New Musical; and Doubt, which was named Best Play. Spamalot also took home awards for Production Design and Direction. Last year, Wicked won Best New Musical, and Golda's Balcony won Best Play.

The complete list of 2007 Touring Broadway Award winners follows:

Best New Musical
Monty Python's Spamalot
Producers: Boyett Ostar Productions, The Shubert Organization, Arielle Tepper, Stephanie McClelland/Lawrence Horowitz, Elan V. McAllister/Allan S. Gordon, Independent Presenters Network, Roy Furman, GRS Associates, Jam Theatricals, Concert Productions International, Live Nation

Best Play
Author: John Patrick Shanley
Producers: Carole Shorenstein Hays, MTC Productions Inc., Roger Berlind and Scott Rudin Best Production Design
Monty Python's Spamalot
Scenic and Costume Design: Tim Hatley
Lighting Design: Hugh Vanstone

Best Musical Score
The Light in the Piazza
Music and Lyrics: Adam Guettel

Best Direction
Mike Nichols
Monty Python's Spamalot

Best Choreography
Twyla Tharp
Movin' Out

Best Long-Running Musical
(shows that have been on the road for over three years)
Producer: Barry & Fran Weissler

Touring Broadway Achievement Award
(recognizing a performer, individual or organization that has shown exceptional dedication to Touring Broadway)
Tom Hewitt: Currently starring as Lawrence Jameson in the national tour of Dirty Rotten Scoundrels, he has starred on Broadway in The Lion King, Dracula, The Musical, and the revival of The Rocky Horror Picture Show, for which he received Tony and Drama Desk Award nominations.

Touring Broadway People's Choice Award
(A new category allowing members of the League's Broadway Fan Club to cast votes for their favorite touring show online)

For more information visit

Today’s Most Popular News: