Spamilton Dominates Clive Barnes Award Nominations

News   Spamilton Dominates Clive Barnes Award Nominations
The awards for “talented young professionals” will be given in January.
Nora Schell in Spamilton Carol Rosegg

The nominees for the seventh annual Clive Barnes Awards have been announced, divided into two categories of Dance and Theatre. One recipient from each category will be chosen and awarded a cash prize of $5,000 by the Clive Barnes Foundation.

Khris Davis__glikas (3).jpg
Khris Davis Bruce Glikas/FilmMagic

Spamilton led the nominees in the theatre category, with both Juwan Crawley and Nora Schell receiving nominations for their performances in the hit Off-Broadway parody. They are joined by Timothee Chamalet, the young breakout star from MTC’s staging of The Prodigal Son, and Khris Davis, who starred as historic African-American boxer Jack Johnson in the Lincoln Center production of The Royale.

The Clive Barnes Foundation was formed in 2009, in honor of theatre critic Clive Barnes, to create annual awards giving recognition, encouragement, and financial support to two talented young professionals.


The winners will be announced January 9, 2017 at a ceremony at The Walter Reade Theatre, Lincoln Center. The 2016 Theatre Award will be presented by Tony winner Joel Grey; and Ashley Bouder, principal dancer with New York City Ballet, will present the Dance Award. The Dance nominees are: Elena D’Amario of Parsons Dance, Spartak Hoxha of New York City Ballet, Andrea Torita of BalletX, and Indiana Woodward of New York City Ballet.

The New York Post's Michael Riedel, and author of Razzle Dazzle: The Battle for Broadway, will oversee the evening as master of ceremonies. In addition, 2015 Clive Barnes Award winners, Gabe Stone Shayer of American Ballet Theater and Dave Thomas Brown of The Legend of Georgia McBride, will be speaking at the event.

The finalists have been nominated by a committee comprised of critics and performers in each field. This year’s panel included William H. Ausman, Siobhan Burns, Diana Byer, Frank DiLella, George Dorris, Barbara Hoffman, Arthur Mitchell, Patrick Pacheco, James Sutton, and Valerie Taylor-Barnes.

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Today’s Most Popular News: