Spring Awakening Celebrates Second Broadway Anniversary Dec. 10

News   Spring Awakening Celebrates Second Broadway Anniversary Dec. 10
Spring Awakening, the Tony-winning musical based on the groundbreaking 1891 play by Frank Wedekind, marks its second anniversary on Broadway Dec. 10.

Hunter Parrish in Spring Awakening
Hunter Parrish in Spring Awakening Photo by Joan Marcus

Featuring a Tony-winning score by Duncan Sheik and Steven Sater, who also eared a Tony Award for his book to the sexually-charged musical, Spring Awakening began previews on Broadway Nov. 16, 2006, and officially opened at the Eugene O'Neill Theatre Dec. 10, 2006.

To mark the second anniversary of Spring Awakening's Broadway run, the cast and crew will celebrate with a special anniversary cake prior to the evening performance.

Spring Awakening made its world premiere Off-Broadway at the Atlantic Theater Company in June 2006. When the hit musical concludes its Broadway run Jan. 18, 2009, it will have played 859 performances and 29 previews on Broadway.

In addition to a national tour, which is currently play in Los Angeles, Spring Awakening is also preparing productions in London, Vienna, Toronto, Helsinki, and Seoul for 2009.

Gerard Canonico, Hunter Parrish and Alexandra Socha currently lead the cast of the Broadway production with Blake Daniel (Ernst), Emma Hunton (Ilse), Matt Doyle (Hanschen), Andrew Durand (Georg), Amanda Castaños (Martha), Gabriel Violett (Otto), Emily Kinney (Anna), Caitlin Kinnunen (Thea), Christine Estabrook (Adult Women), Glenn Fleshler (Adult Men), Zach Reiner-Harris, Morgan Karr, Alice Lee, Eryn Murman, Jesse Swenson and Jenna Ushkowitz. Spring Awakening won eight 2007 Tony Awards, including Best Musical. Spring Awakening features direction by Michael Mayer, choreography by Bill T. Jones, book and lyrics by Steven Sater and a score by Duncan Sheik.

Songs featured in the Tony-winning score are "All That's Known," "And Then There Were None," "Blue Wind/Don't Do Sadness," "Left Behind," "Mamma Who Bore Me," "My Junk, "The Bitch of Living," "The Dark I Know Well," "The Guilty Ones," "The Song of Purple Summer," "The Word of Your Body," "Those You've Known," "Totally Fucked," "Touch Me," "Whispering" and "The Mirror-Blue Night."

For further information visit www.springawakening.com.

Gerard Canonico, Hunter Parrish, and Alexandra Socha
Gerard Canonico, Hunter Parrish, and Alexandra Socha
Today’s Most Popular News: