Stars Come Out to Honor August Wilson at New Dramatists Benefit May 13

News   Stars Come Out to Honor August Wilson at New Dramatists Benefit May 13
A host of Broadway favorites will turn out May 13 to honor playwright August Wilson at New Dramatists’ 54th Annual Benefit Luncheon.

The nation’s oldest non-profit workshop “dedicated to the development of new playwrights” will honor Wilson with its 2003 Lifetime Achievement Award at a ceremony held at the New York Marriott Marquis. Brian Stokes Mitchell — a Tony nominee for this season’s Man of La Mancha and for Wilson’s King Hedley II — will present the award to the acclaimed playwright. Charles S. Dutton, who starred in this season’s revival of Wilson’s Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom, will offer a spoken tribute, and Leslie Uggams — another Tony-nominated King Hedley II star — will perform a musical tribute in memory of the late Broadway composer Adolph Green. The annual event salutes an artist who has made an “outstanding artistic contribution to the American theatre.” Past honorees include Barbara Cook, Angela Lansbury, Julie Andrews, Glenn Close, John Kander and Fred Ebb, Neil Simon, Jerry Herman, Stephen Sondheim, Gwen Verdon, Terrence McNally and Arthur Miller. Other luminaries scheduled to attend this year’s luncheon include Mary Alice, Walter Cronkite, Ann Reinking, Terrence McNally, Julie Taymor, Deborah Gibson, Steve Guttenberg, Matt Cavanaugh, Daniel Sunjata, David Miller and Celeste Holm.

Born in Pittsburgh’s Hill District, August Wilson’s plays include Jitney, Ma Rainey's Black Bottom, Fences, Joe Turner's Come and Gone, The Piano Lesson, Two Trains Running, Seven Guitars and King Hedley II. These works explore the African-American heritage and experience over the course of the twentieth century. Wilson received the Pulitzer Prize for Fences and The Piano Lesson as well as a Tony Award for Fences. Additionally, his plays have garnered seven New York Drama Critics Circle Awards and an Olivier Award for Jitney. Wilson is an alumnus of New Dramatists and a member of the American Academy of Arts and Letters. The 54th Annual Benefit Luncheon will be held in the Broadway Ballroom of the New York Marriott Marquis, located in New York at 1535 Broadway. The champagne reception begins at 11:15 AM, and the proceedings will end at 2:30 PM. Tickets, priced at $200, are available by calling (212) 757-6960.

Founded in 1949 by Michaela O’Harra in association with Richard Rodgers, Oscar Hammerstein II, Moss Hart, Howard Lindsay and Russel Crouse, New Dramatists has fostered the works of Paula Vogel, August Wilson, William Inge, Paddy Chayefsky, John Guare, John Patrick Shanley, Emily Mann and Suzan-Lori Parks. New Dramatists was the recipient of a special Tony Award for Excellence in Theatre in 2001, and its playwrights have garnered 11 Pulitzers, 22 Tony Awards, 52 Obie Awards and 17 New York Drama Critics Circle Awards.

Today’s Most Popular News: