Stephanie Rothenberg, Edward Watts, Jim Stanek Among Guthrie Cast of New Musical Roman Holiday

News   Stephanie Rothenberg, Edward Watts, Jim Stanek Among Guthrie Cast of New Musical Roman Holiday
Complete casting has been announced for The Guthrie Theater's upcoming production of the new musical Roman Holiday.

Jim Stanek
Jim Stanek

Based on the iconic 1953 Paramount Pictures film starring Audrey Hepburn and Gregory Peck, the musical features songs by Cole Porter (“Easy to Love,” “Just One of Those Things” and “Ev’ry Time We Say Goodbye," among others) and a book by Paul Blake.

Directed by John Miller-Stephany, performances are scheduled for June 9-Aug. 19 on the McGuire Proscenium Stage.

Stephanie Rothenberg will portray Princess Anne with Edward Watts as Joe Bradley, Michelle Barber as the Countess, Jim Stanek as Irving Radovich and Christina Baldwin as Francesca Scabulo.

The company will also include David Anders, Matt Baker, Liam Benzvi, Joseph Bigelow, David Anthony Brinkley, David Colacci, Drew Franklin, Gabriela Garcia, Michael Gruber, Mary Ann Lamb, Ann Michels, Jared Oxborough, Aaron Lloyd Pomeroy, Laura Rudolph, Lainie Sakakura, John Skelley, Alan Sorenson, Peter Thomson, Angela Timberman, Tony Vierling, Alexandra Zorn, Lee Mark Nelson, Christian Demaris, Marc Oka, Carolyn Doherty and Janet Hayes Trow.

"In this irresistibly sweet romance," according to the Guthrie, "a radiant young princess is on a widely publicized European tour. When the demands of her official duties and rigorous schedule become too much to bear, she sneaks away to explore the Eternal City on her own. Disguising herself as a commoner and employing a fictitious name, she meets an American newspaper reporter who feigns ignorance of her true identity to land an exclusive story. But his plan crumbles as the couple tour one of the world's most romantic cities and find themselves falling in love." The artistic team includes Alex Sanchez (choreographer), Andrew Cooke (musical director/conductor), Todd Rosenthal (set designer), Mathew J. LeFebvre (costume designer), Donald Holder (lighting designer), Scott W. Edwards (sound designer), Wendell K. Harrington (projection designer), Larry Blank and Doug Besterman (orchestrations), Michael Horsley (vocal arrangements/associate musical director), Samuel S. Davis (dance arrangements), Jo Holcomb (dramaturg), D’Arcy Smith (voice and dialect coach), Robin H. McFarquhar (fight director), Chris A. Code (stage manager), Jason Clusman and Michele Harms (assistant stage managers), Brian Sostek (assistant director) and Lainie Sakakura (associate choreographer).

For ticket information visit

Today’s Most Popular News: