Stritch, Mitchell, Mason and Graae Among 2006 Nightlife Award Winners

News   Stritch, Mitchell, Mason and Graae Among 2006 Nightlife Award Winners
The 2006 Nightlife Award winners and finalists have been announced. Twenty-seven critics and experts voted on this year’s awards; winners will be saluted Feb. 6 at Town Hall.
Brian Stokes Mitchell
Brian Stokes Mitchell Photo by Aubrey Reuben

The Nightlife Awards celebrate the best in New York cabaret, jazz and comedy. The annual event, which boasts "no acceptance speeches — just pure entertainment," will feature performances from most of the year’s winners.

In a previous statement, producer Scott Siegel said, "It is our particular intention to give New York City's nightlife — its clubs and performers — the same importance in the public mindset as Broadway. This is an award that will have immediate credibility and importance because it will be given by the broadest possible spectrum of this city's most influential authorities on cabaret, jazz, and comedy from those who see acts in the big rooms to those who cover the nightlife waterfront."

The 2006 winners and finalists follow:
Outstanding Cabaret Female Vocalist in a Major Engagement: Elaine Stritch
(Finalists: Chita Rivera and Rebecca Luker)
Outstanding Cabaret Male Vocalist in a Major Engagement: Brian Stokes Mitchell
(Finalists: Jack Jones and Michael Feinstein)
Outstanding Duo/Group Cabaret Performance in a Major Engagement: Sandy Stewart & Bill Charlap
(Finalists: John Pizzarelli/Bucky Pizzarelli and Jimmy Webb/Glen Campbell)
Outstanding Cabaret Female Vocalist: Karen Mason
(Finalists: Lumirie Tubo and Ludmilla Ilieva)
Outstanding Cabaret Male Vocalist: Tom Andersen
(Finalists: Colm Reilly and Miles Phillips)
Outstanding Cabaret Musical Comedy/Characterization Performance: Jason Graae
(Finalists: BJ Ward and Jimmy James)
Outstanding Cabaret Revue/Group/Variety Performance: A Little Traveling Music
(Finalists: The Fabulous Pink Flamingoes and The Farley Brothers)
Outstanding Cabaret Piano Bar Performance: A.J. Irvin
(Finalists: Elaine Brier and David Colbert)
Unique Cabaret Performance: Kabarett Kollectif
Outstanding Female Standup Comedian: Kristen Schaali
(Finalists: Judy Gold and Heather Lawless)
Outstanding Male Standup Comedian: Bill Burr
(Finalists: Greg Giraldo and Demetri Martin)
Outstanding Comedy Performance: tie—Creative Nation and TJ & Dave
(Finalist: Andres du Bouchet)
Outstanding Jazz Soloist: Hank Jones
(Finalists: Bill Charlap and Eric Alexander)
Outstanding Jazz Combo Performance: Harry Allen and Joe Cohn Quartet
(Finalists: Lee Konitz Nonet and Afro-Latin Jazz Orchestra with Arturo O’Farrill)
Outstanding Female Jazz Vocalist: Paula West
(Finalists: Annie Ross and Sheila Jordan)
Outstanding Male Jazz Vocalist: Freddy Cole
(Finalists: John Pizzarelli and Allan Harris)

As previously announced, veteran stage and screen star Eartha Kitt will receive the Nightlife Legend Award.

Tickets for the Nightlife Awards — priced $25, $50 and $75 — are available by calling Ticketmaster at (212) 307-4100 or by visiting Limited tickets to the after-party (an additional $50) are available by contacting or by calling (212) 365-4345. Town Hall is located in Manhattan at 123 West 43rd Street.

Today’s Most Popular News: