Stritch & Stroman Among Olivier Award Nominees; Complete List Announced

News   Stritch & Stroman Among Olivier Award Nominees; Complete List Announced
The nominations for the Society of London Theatre's Olivier Awards, the West End's equivalent to the Tonys, have been announced.

The ceremony will be held at the Lyceum Theatre on Friday, Feb. 14, and tickets for the televised event are available to the public.

The complete list of nominees follows:

Best Actress:
Anita Dobson for Frozen (Cottesloe)
Clare Higgins for Vincent in Brixton (Cottesloe, Wyndham's)
Gwyneth Paltrow for Proof (Donmar Warehouse)
Emily Watson for Uncle Vanya (Donmar Warehouse)

Best Actor:
Michael Gambon for A Number (Downstairs at the Royal Court)
Simon Russell Beale for Uncle Vanya (Donmar Warehouse)
Mark Rylance for Twelfth Night (Shakespeare's Globe)
David Tennant for Lobby Hero (Donmar Warehouse, New Ambassadors)

Best Performance in a Supporting Role:
Essie Davis for A Streetcar Named Desire (Lyttelton)
Jessica Stevenson for The Night Heron (Downstairs at the Royal Court)
Mark Strong for Twelfth Night (Donmar Warehouse)
Sian Thomas for Up For Grabs (Wyndham's) The BBC Award For Best New Play:
Jesus Hopped the A Train by Stephen Adly Guirgis (Donmar Warehouse)
The Coast of Utopia Trilogy by Tom Stoppard (Olivier)
The York Realist by Peter Gill (Downstairs at the Royal Court, Strand)
Vincent in Brixton by Nicholas Wright (Cottesloe, Wyndham's)

Best New Comedy:
Damsels in Distress — Role Playby Alan Ayckbourn (Duchess)
Dinner by Moira Buffini (Littleton Loft)
Lobby Hero by Kenneth Lonergan (Donmar Warehouse, New Ambassadors)
The Lieutenant of Inishmore by Martin McDonagh (The Pit, Garrick)

Best Revival:
Abigail's Party by Mike Leigh (New Ambassadors)
A Streetcar Named Desire by Tennessee Williams (Lyttelton)
Twelfth Night by William Shakespeare and Uncle Vanya by Anton Chekhov, a version of the play by Brian Friel (Donmar Warehouse)
Twelfth Night by William Shakespeare (Shakespeare's Globe)

The Hilton Award For Best Musical:
Bombay Dreams music A R Rahman, lyrics Don Black, book Meera Syal based on an idea by Shekhar Kapur and Andrew Lloyd Webber (Apollo Victoria)
Chitty Chitty Bang Bang music and lyrics Richard M Sherman and Robert B Sherman, adapted for the stage by Jeremy Sams, based on the MGM/United Artists Motion Picture (London Palladium)
Our House by Tim Firth, music and lyrics Madness (Cambridge)
Taboo music and lyrics Boy George, book Mark Davies (The Venue)

Outstanding Musical Production:
Anything Goes music and lyrics Cole Porter, original book PG Wodehouse, Guy Bolton, Howard Lindsay and Russel Crouse, new book by Timothy Crouse & John Weidman (Olivier)
Oh What a Lovely War, Joan Littlewood's musical entertainment by Theatre Workshop, Charles Chilton, Gerry Raffles and Members of the Original Cast (Open Air)

Best Entertainment
Contact by Susan Stroman and John Weidman (Queen's)
Elaine Stritch at Liberty constructed by John Lahr, reconstructed by Elaine Stritch (The Old Vic)
Play Without Words devised by Matthew Bourne, music Terry Davies (Lyttelton)
Rory Bremner With John Bird and John Fortune (Albery)

Best Actress in a Musical or Entertainment:
Janie Dee for My One and Only (Piccadilly)
Joanna Riding for My Fair Lady (Theatre Royal Drury Lane)
Elaine Stritch for Elaine Stritch At Liberty (The Old Vic)
Sarah Wildor for Contact (Queen's)

Best Actor in a Musical or Entertainment:
Tim Flavin for My One and Only (Piccadilly)
Alex Jennings for My Fair Lady (Theatre Royal Drury Lane)
Michael Jibson for Our House (Cambridge)
Euan Morton for Taboo (The Venue)

Best Performance in a Supporting Role in a Musical or Entertainment:
Paul Baker for Taboo (The Venue)
Sharon D. Clarke for We Will Rock You (Dominion)
Jenny Galloway for My One And Only (Piccadilly)
Nichola McAuliffe for Chitty Chitty Bang Bang (London Palladium)
Craig Urbani for Contact (Queen's)

Best Director:
Matthew Bourne for Play Without Words (Lyttelton)
Richard Eyre for Vincent in Brixton (Cottesloe)
Edward Hall for Rose Rage (Haymarket)
Sam Mendes for Twelfth Night and Uncle Vanya in repertory (Donmar Warehouse)

Best Theatre Choreographer:
Matthew Bourne and the Company for Play Without Words (Lyttelton)
Peter Darling for Our House (Cambridge)
Craig Revel Horwood for My One And Only (Piccadilly)
Susan Stroman for Contact (Queen's)

Best Set Design:
A Streetcar Named Desire designed by Bunny Christie (Lyttelton)
Chitty Chitty Bang Bang designed by Anthony Ward (London Palladium)
Play Without Words designed by Lez Brotherston (Lyttelton)
The Coast Of Utopia designed by William Dudley (Olivier)

Today’s Most Popular News: