Susan Pourfar and Finn Wittrock Receive Actors' Equity Clarence Derwent Awards June 12 | Playbill

Related Articles
News Susan Pourfar and Finn Wittrock Receive Actors' Equity Clarence Derwent Awards June 12 Actors' Equity's Clarence Derwent Awards for most promising female and male performers on the New York metropolitan scene will be presented to, respectively, Susan Pourfar (Tribes) and Finn Wittrock (Death of a Salesman) June 12 at Equity's Eastern Regional Board meeting at the Equity offices.

Susan Pourfar
Susan Pourfar Photo by Joseph Marzullo/WENN

Susan Pourfar, who can currently be seen Off-Broadway in Tribes, recently appeared at The Public Theater in Lisa Kron's In the Wake. Other New York credits include When The Rain Stops Falling (Lincoln Center Theater), The Singing Forest and The Poor Itch (Public Theater) and multiple productions with the Atlantic Theater Company.

Finn Whittrock recently made his Broadway debut as Happy Loman in the Broadway production of Death of a Salesman, directed by Mike Nichols. Off-Broadway he has appeared with the Signature Theatre Company and Classic Stage Company, and he is a member of the Mechanical Theatre Group in Los Angeles.

The Derwent Award is the oldest award on Broadway, established in 1945 by Clarence Derwent, actor and president (1946-1952) of Actors' Equity. Past recipients include Nina Arianda, Annette Bening, Kristin Chenoweth, Morgan Freeman, Allison Janney, Frances Sternhagen, Christopher Walken, Fritz Weaver and, in 2011, Tracee Chimo and Santino Fontana.

The Judges' Panel included Joe Dziemianowicz, Daily News; Adam Feldman, Time Out NY; Susan Haskins, Theater Talk; Harry Haun, Playbill; and David Rosenberg, Back Stage.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!