Susan Pourfar and Finn Wittrock Win Actors' Equity Clarence Derwent Awards

News   Susan Pourfar and Finn Wittrock Win Actors' Equity Clarence Derwent Awards
Arne Gundersen, president of Actors’ Equity Foundation, announced May 9 that The Clarence Derwent Awards for most promising female and male performers on the New York metropolitan scene have gone to Susan Pourfar (Tribes) and Finn Wittrock (Death of a Salesman), respectively.

The awards will be presented at Equity’s Eastern Regional Board meeting June 12 at the Equity offices.

Susan Pourfar recently appeared at The Public Theater in Lisa Kron’s In the Wake. Other New York credits include When The Rain Stops Falling (Lincoln Center Theater), The Singing Forest and The Poor Itch (Public Theater) and multiple productions with the Atlantic Theatre Company.

Finn Whittrock is currently making his Broadway debut as Happy Loman in the Broadway production of Death of a Salesman, directed by Mike Nichols. Off-Broadway he has appeared with the Signature Theatre Company and Classic Stage Company, and he is a member of the Mechanical Theatre Group in Los Angeles.

The Derwent Award is the oldest award on Broadway, established in 1945 by Clarence Derwent, actor and president (1946-1952) of Actors’ Equity. Past recipients include Nina Arianda, Annette Bening, Kristin Chenoweth, Morgan Freeman, Allison Janney, Frances Sternhagen, Christopher Walken, Fritz Weaver and, in 2011, Tracee Chimo and Santino Fontana.

The Judges’ Panel included Joe Dziemianowicz, Daily News; Adam Feldman, Time Out NY; Susan Haskins, Theater Talk; Harry Haun, Playbill and David Rosenberg, Back Stage.

Today’s Most Popular News: