Suzan-Lori Parks, Annaleigh Ashford, Krysta Rodriguez, More to Perform at Women of the Public Gala

Benefits and Galas   Suzan-Lori Parks, Annaleigh Ashford, Krysta Rodriguez, More to Perform at Women of the Public Gala
The Public Theater's annual gala will celebrate the women who have contribute to the company's legacy.
Oscar Eustis and Suzan-Lori Parks Marc J. Franklin

The Public Theater will celebrate a number of women who have contributed to the Off-Broadway company's artistic life at its upcoming gala, Women of the Public. The evening, to be held June 3 at the Delacorte Theater in Central Park, will celebrate playwrights, composers, directors, performers, and institutional leaders.

The event will pay tribute to the impact of Ntozake Shange, Colleen Dewhurst, Jeanine Tesori, Ruby Dee, Arielle Tepper, Lynn Nottage, LuEsther T. Mertz, Susan Shiva Stein, Judith T. Peabody, Meryl Streep, Nona Hendryx, and many more.

Krysta Rodriguez Joseph Marzullo/WENN

The gala will also honor Shakespeare’s great heroines and feature performances from some of The Public’s several musical productions, including A Chorus Line, Fun Home, and Miss You Like Hell.

Leigh Silverman will direct a cast that includes Annaleigh Ashford, Kim Blanck, Ally Bonino, Alison Cimmet, Jenn Colella, Bridget Everett, Tanesha Gary, Morgan Siobhan Green, Jessica Hecht, Marva Hicks, Jayne Houdyshell, Stephanie Hsu, Bre Jackson, Courtney Jamison, Gizel Jiménez, Ramona Keller, Lisa Kron, Alyse Alan Louis, Shakina Nayfack, Suzan-Lori Parks, Krysta Rodriguez, Daphne Rubin-Vega, Jessie Shelton, Emily Skeggs, Diana Son, Shaina Taub, Jeanine Tesori, Katie Thompson, Alysha Umphress, Kuhoo Verma, Tatiana Wechsler, Remy Zaken, and many more.

Women of the Public will be hosted by gala co-chairs Kathryn Chenault, Faith Gay, Parks, Julie Rice, and Lauren Rosenkranz.

Gala tickets start at $750 and are available by calling (212) 539-8634, online at, or via email at

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store