Tharp, Not Reinking, Wins Touring Broadway Award

News   Tharp, Not Reinking, Wins Touring Broadway Award
When the winners of the 2007 Touring Broadway Awards were announced April 16, Ann Reinking was listed as Best Choreographer for the national tour of Chicago.

A spokesperson for the League of American Theatres and Producers told April 17 that it was actually Twyla Tharp who won the Best Choreography Award for her work on Billy's Joel's Movin' Out.

The spokesperson said an internal mistake led to the error in the official awards release that was sent out by the League.

The Awards, which the League established in 2000, are the first national awards to recognize touring Broadway shows. League presenters representing over 240 markets select the recipients.

For a complete list of 2007 Touring Broadway Award winners, click here.

Today’s Most Popular News: