"The After Party" Welcomes Enter Laughing Stars and Composer Alan Jan. 30

News   "The After Party" Welcomes Enter Laughing Stars and Composer Alan Jan. 30
"The After Party," billed as "an informal midtown schmoozefest for the theatrically inclined," welcomes four of the stars of the York Theatre Company's current production of Enter Laughing as well as composer Scott Alan Jan. 30.
Jill Eikenberry and Michael Tucker
Jill Eikenberry and Michael Tucker

Enter Laughing's Jill Eickenberry, Michael Tucker, Ray DeMattis and Emily Shoolin and composer Alan will all be on hand to greet fans and perform. Hosted by Brandon Cutrell and Alysha Umphress, "The After Party" at the Laurie Beechman Theatre features Ray Fellman at the piano. Amateurs and professionals are invited to take turns at the open mic during the "Party," which begins at 10:30 PM and continues to 2 AM.

The comic, showbiz coming-of-age tale Enter Laughing is scheduled to play the York through March 8. Stuart Ross directs. The show, according to press notes, tells "the hilarious story of young aspiring actor David Kolowitz in 1930s New York City as he tries to free himself from overly protective parents and girlfriends, all the while struggling to meet the challenge of an immense lack of talent."

Scott Alan wrote the book, music and lyrics for the musical Detour, which was seen in Los Angeles. His current theatre projects include Piece, which was featured at the 2003 Palo Alto TheatreWorks festival, the 2005 NAMT festival and the 2006 Seattle Theatre Festival; and the song cycle The Warmth of the Womb. He also produces the monthly Monday Nights, New Voices concert at the Duplex. Alan's recordings — "Keys" and "Dreaming Wide Awake" — are available on his website, scottalan.net, and at iTunes.

The Laurie Beechman Theatre is located within the West Bank Cafe at 407 West 42nd Street. There is no cover charge or minimum for "The After Party."

Today’s Most Popular News: