The Best of Times: Jerry Herman Will Get Goodspeed Award at June Gala

News   The Best of Times: Jerry Herman Will Get Goodspeed Award at June Gala
Goodspeed Musicals will honor Broadway composer-lyricist Jerry Herman at a gala evening June 16, when he will receive The Goodspeed Award for Outstanding Contribution to Musical Theatre in recognition of his extraordinary career.
Jerry Herman
Jerry Herman

The Tony Award-winning songwriter and champion of the old-fashioned show tune penned Hello, Dolly!, Mame and La Cage aux Folles, as well as Milk and Honey, Dear World, Mack and Mabel, The Grand Tour and the revue Parade. He also penned songs for the TV musical "Mrs. Santa Claus," as well as Miss Spectacular, a musical intended for Las Vegas, which has not been produced yet despite a world-premiere recording of the songs on the DRG label.

The gala evening is a benefit for the programs of the not-for-profit Tony Award-honored Goodspeed in East Haddam, CT. The troupe is famously devoted to the creation of new musicals and the revival, restoration or revision of classic shows.

Previous Goodspeed award recipients include Julie Andrews, Ira Gershwin, Stephen Schwartz, Tommy Tune, Susan Stroman and Gerald Schoenfeld.

The co-chairs for this gala event are Roland and Dona Young (Goodspeed trustee and chairman) of West Hartford, CT.

Herman's song catalog includes "Before the Parade Passes By," "Put On Your Sunday Clothes," "It Only Takes a Moment," "If He Walked Into My Life," "We Need a Little Christmas," "Bosom Buddies," "I Won't Send Roses," "Time Heals Everything," "I Am What I Am," "The Best of Times," "Marianne," "Look Over There," "I Belong Here" and many more. Herman became a member of the Goodspeed Musicals family in 2000 when it produced Dear World at The Norma Terris Theatre, and his association with Goodspeed continued in 2004 when Mack & Mabel played at the Goodspeed Opera House.

He is the recipient of numerous awards including Tony Awards, Grammy Awards, Drama Desk, Variety and a Johnny Mercer Award, and has been elected to the Songwriters Hall of Fame.

Individual tickets start at $500, while tables of ten can be purchased for $5,000 and up. For gala ticket information, please telephone Theresa Kidd, director of major gifts, at (860) 873-8664, extension 317.


Today’s Most Popular News: