The Boy Who Danced on Air to Receive Cast Recording With Bonus Track by India.Arie | Playbill

Related Articles
Cast Recordings & Albums The Boy Who Danced on Air to Receive Cast Recording With Bonus Track by India.Arie The album for the new musical, seen Off-Broadway last year, is now available for pre-order.
The_Boy_Who_Danced_on_Air_Abingdon_Production_Photo_2017_TROY IWATA in THE BOY WHO DANCED ON AIR. 5. Photography by Maria Baranova_HR.jpg
Troy Iwata Maria Baranova

The Boy Who Danced on Air, a musical love story set in rural Afghanistan that was seen Off-Broadway last spring, will receive an original cast recording from Broadway Records. The album, now available for pre-order, will also feature a bonus track by four-time Grammy Award winner India.Arie.

India.Arie Shutterstock

The Boy Who Danced on Air features music by Tim Rosser and a book and lyrics by Charlie Sohne. The cast recording will be released digitally and in stores September 21and will feature the cast of the Off-Broadway production.

Following a world premiere in San Diego, The Boy Who Danced on Air premiered in New York in May 2017 in a production from Abingdon Theatre Company in the June Havoc Theatre.

Reprising their roles from the world premiere were Troy Iwata and The Band’s Visit’s Jonathan Raviv, along with Osh Ghanimah, Deven Kolluri, and Nikhil Saboo. Tony Speciale directed, and Nejla Yatkin choreographed the production. Music direction was by David Gardos.


The Boy Who Danced on Air follows the chance meeting of Paiman (Iwata) and Feda (Saboo), who spent their childhoods as bacha bazi dancers—a world where wealthy men take in boys from poor families and often abuse them. The show is a musical fable about love, tradition, morality, and the strength of the human spirit.

See the complete track listing below.

1. A Song He Never Chose
2. Little Dance
3. For a Night
4. All That I’ve Known
5. With Him Around Me
6. Kabul
7. Play Your Part
8. Into Your Hands
9. A Song He Never Chose (Reprise)
10. A Boy Of My Own
11. Denying the Sun
12. What You Did To Me
13. In The City
14. I Can See It
15. Paiman’s Dance
16. I Know How You Feel
17. A Song He Never Chose (Finale)
18. Feda’s Song
19. His Song (India.Arie)

First Look at New Musical The Boy Who Danced On Air

The cast album is also available for pre-order on
Latest News

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!