The Prom’s Matthew Sklar Wins Dramatists Guild's 2019 Frederick Loewe Award

Awards   The Prom’s Matthew Sklar Wins Dramatists Guild's 2019 Frederick Loewe Award
The Tony-nominated composer of the new musical comedy will be celebrated at a July ceremony.
Matthew Sklar Joseph Marzullo/WENN

Tony-nominated The Prom composer Matthew Sklar will receive the Frederick Loewe Award for Dramatic Composition, presented by the Dramatists Guild of America, for his outstanding contribution to the 2018–2019 Broadway season.

Previously announced award recipients Amy Herzog and Heidi Schreck will join Sklar and additional, yet-to-be-announced winners at a ceremony in late July.

READ: Track-by-Track Breakdown: Matthew Sklar and Chad Beguelin on the Score for Broadway's The Prom

The Prom, featuring music by Sklar, lyrics by Chad Beguelin, and a book by Beguelin and Bob Martin, is currently up for seven Tony Awards including Best Musical, Best Book, and Best Original Score.

Sklar’s other works include the Broadway musicals Elf and The Wedding Singer, the latter for which he and Beguelin received a Tony nod.

Past recipients of the distinction include David Yazbek, Benj Pasek and Justin Paul, Jeanine Tesori, Amanda Green, Alan Menken, Michael John LaChiusa, Robert Lopez, John Kander, Tom Kitt, and Lin-Manuel Miranda.

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Recommended Reading:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!