"The Voice" Star Makes Broadway Debut in Pippin Tonight; Kyle Dean Massey Will Have Magic to Do on Tour

News   "The Voice" Star Makes Broadway Debut in Pippin Tonight; Kyle Dean Massey Will Have Magic to Do on Tour
Josh Kaufman, who was announced the winner of the sixth season of NBC's "The Voice" in May 2014, makes his Broadway debut in the title role of the Tony Award-winning revival of Pippin Oct. 31. Kyle Dean Massey, who recently exited the Broadway production, will assume the title role on tour beginning Nov. 4 at the Hollywood Pantages in Los Angeles.

Josh Kaufman
Josh Kaufman Photo by Joan Marcus

Kaufman was originally announced to join the cast Nov. 4. He will remain with the Broadway production through Jan. 4, 2015.

Pippin is directed by Tony Award winner Diane Paulus and features choreography by Tony Award nominee Chet Walker in the style of Bob Fosse and circus creation by Gypsy Snider of the Montreal-based circus company Les 7 doigts de la main (7 Fingers).

The Broadway cast currently features Carly Hughs as the Leading Player, Lucie Arnaz as Berthe, Tony Award nominee Charlotte d'Amboise as Fastrada, John Dossett as Charles, Rachel Bay Jones as Catherine and Tony Award winner Martin as Berthe.

Other members of the company include Mike Schwitter, Eli Tokash, Ashton Woerz, Kristin Allen, Mackenzie Bell, Colin Cunliffe, Ariana DeBose, Andrew Fitch, Lauren Joy Herley, Naël Jammal, Nicolas Jelmoni, Kai Johnson-Peady, Sam Lips, Richard Maguire, Brad Musgrove, Adam Roberts, Masha Terentieva, Kristen Beth Williams and Lara Seibert Young.

The tour cast features Sasha Allen ("The Voice") as Leading Player, Tony Award winner John Rubinstein (created the role of Pippin in the 1972 original Broadway production) as Charles, Sabrina Harper (Pippin) as Fastrada and Kristine Reese (Wicked national tour) as Catherine. The company also includes Skyler Adams, Sascha Bachman, Bradley Benjamin, Callan Bergmann, Dmitrious Bistrevsky, Mark Burrell, Mathew deGuzman, Fernando Dudka, Mirela Golinska Roche, Kelsey Jamieson, Preston Jamieson, Lisa Karlin, Alan Kelly, Melodie Lamoreux, Zachary Mackiewicz, Lucas Schultz, Tory Trowbridge, Mackenzie Warren and Borris York.

The show will make its Washington, D.C., premiere at the National Theatre Dec. 16-Jan. 4, 2015.

With a book by Roger Hirson and music and lyrics by Stephen Schwartz, Pippin features music supervision and arrangements by Nadia DiGiallonardo, orchestrations by Tony Award winner Larry Hochman, scenic design by Tony Award winner Scott Pask, costume design by Tony Award nominee Dominique Lemieux, lighting design by Tony Award winner Kenneth Posner, sound design by Tony Award nominees Jonathan Deans and Garth Helm.

Pippin, according to press notes, "tells the story of a young prince on a death-defying journey to find meaning in his existence. Will he choose a happy but simple life? Or will he risk everything for a singular flash of glory?"

Visit PippinTheMusical.com

Today’s Most Popular News: