The Who's Tommy, starring Brett Travis, Begins Gallery Players Run May 2

News   The Who's Tommy, starring Brett Travis, Begins Gallery Players Run May 2
The Gallery Players production of the Tony-nominated rock musical The Who's Tommy begins performances in Brooklyn May 2.
Brett Travis
Brett Travis Photo by Ron Amato

Tom Wojtunik stages the sixties-set musical about a young pinball wizard that features a book by Des McAnuff and Pete Townshend and music and lyrics by Townshend, John Entwistle and Keith Moon. Tommy runs through May 24.

The rock musical stars Brett Travis in the title role with Tommy Foster (Captain Walker), Anna Lise Jensen (Mrs. Walker), John Ashley Brown (Lover), Nathan Brisby (Uncle Ernie), Marcie Henderson (The Gypsy), Tyson Jennette (Hawker), Blair Moore (Sally Simpson) and David Perlman (Cousin Kevin).

Completing the cast are Kennen Butler, Alexis DeDonato, Hayley Driscoll, Daniel Henri Luttway, Alex Pearlman, Jan-Peter Pedross, Anthony Pierini, Mia Romero, Chloe Sabin, Mitchell Scott Shapiro and Ryan Bruiser Stone.

Designing Tommy are set designer Michael P. Kramer, lighting designer Chris Walsh, costume designer Hunter Kaczorowski, sound designer Kate Foretek and projection designer Ron Amato. The Gallery Players production features choreography by Christine O'Grady and musical direction by Paul Seiz.

The Who's Tommy opened on Broadway at the St. James Theatre April 22, 1993, earning 11 Tony nominations. Des McAnuff won a Tony Award for his direction, and Pete Townshend won a Tony for the show's score in a tie with Kander and Ebb for Kiss of the Spider Woman. For tickets call (718) 595-0547 or visit

The Gallery Players is located in Park Slope, Brooklyn, at 199 14th Street. Those in Manhattan can reach the theatre by taking the F train to 4th Avenue or the R train to 9th Street.


The Gallery Players, a Brooklyn theatrical institution, boasts numerous Broadway folk among its alumni, including Harvey Fierstein (A Catered Affair, Hairspray, Torch Song Trilogy), Jennifer Barnhart (Avenue Q), Manoel Felciano (Sweeney Todd), Diedre Goodwin (A Chorus Line, Chicago), Seth Rudetsky (Seth’s Broadway Chatterbox), Garrett Long (The Spitfire Grill) and John Rando (director of Broadway's Urinetown and The Wedding Singer).

Today’s Most Popular News: