Theatre Development Fund and Zabel Honored by The Acting Company Nov. 10

News   Theatre Development Fund and Zabel Honored by The Acting Company Nov. 10
The Acting Company honors the Theatre Development Fund and philanthropist and human rights supporter William D. Zabel at the Commedia Dell'Arte Gala Nov. 10.

Tony winner Harriet Harris (Thoroughly Modern Millie, Cry-Baby) and A Man for All Seasons' Dakin Matthews co-host the 6:30 PM evening at Cipriani on Wall Street.

Shubert Organization president Gerald Schoenfeld is set to present the Acting Company's John Houseman Award to Theatre Development Fund executive director Victoria Bailey. The Houseman Award honors a profound commitment to the development of classical actors and an audience for the theatre.

Lincoln Center board member and Human Rights First founder William D. Zabel will be presented with the Joan Warburg Humanitarian Award. HRF president Michael Posner will present Zabel with the honor in recognition of his outstanding philanthropic endeavor.

Scheduled to entertain as part of the evening are Debra Monk, Mary-Mitchell Campbell, commedia troupe Pastiche, Hank Lane's orchestra, as well as gender illusionists, stilt walkers and magicians. Theatre veterans Marian Seldes, Larry Kramer and Dana Ivey will also be in attendance.

Proceeds from the evening benefit the Acting Company's Literacy Through Theatre education programs for students in disadvantaged schools.

Today’s Most Popular News: