Theatre Museum Awards Gala to Feature Performances By Julia Murney and Jeff Blumenkrantz

News   Theatre Museum Awards Gala to Feature Performances By Julia Murney and Jeff Blumenkrantz
Stagedoor Manor alumni Julia Murney and Jeff Blumenkrantz will celebrate the prestigious performing arts summer camp during the April 30 Theatre Museum Awards gala at the Players Club.

Stagedoor Manor, which was established in 1976 and boasts such alumni as Natalie Portman, Robert Downey, Lea Michele, Adam Pascal and Zach Braff, is being honored with the Theatre Arts Education Award. Tony winner Richard Maltby will present the honor.

The 7:30 PM event will feature performances by Murney (Wicked, The Wild Party) and Blumenkrantz as well as previous Stagedoor campers Marni Raab, Noah Silverman, Katherine Doherty, Nick Christopher, Derek Speedy and Etai BenShlomo.

John Bolton (A Christmas Story, Damn Yankees) will host the ceremony that will also honor veteran carpenter Frederick O. Olsson with the Career Achievement Award; Theatre Communications Group with the Distinguished Service to the Theatre honor; and Emeritus Professor of Theatre and of English at Brown University, Don B. Wilmeth, with the 2012 Theatre History Preservation Award.

IATSE Local One president James J. Claffey, Jr. will present Olsson with his honor, while Laurence Maslon will present Wilmeth with his, and Tina Howe will present TCG with its award.

Lawrence Lesher is the gala director. Kimberly Grigsby serves as musical director for the evening. Founded in 2003, the Theatre Museum is New York's first and only chartered, non-profit museum dedicated to the history of theatre. Its primary mission is to preserve, protect and perpetuate the legacy of theatre through innovative programming.

For more information about the Theatre Museum and the awards, visit TheTheatreMuseum.

Today’s Most Popular News: