Theatre World Awards Name Recipient of 8th Annual Dorothy Loudon Award

News   Theatre World Awards Name Recipient of 8th Annual Dorothy Loudon Award
The award will be presented at the annual ceremony in May.
She Loves Me
Nicholas Barasch Monica Simoes

The Theatre World Awards Board of Directors and The Dorothy Loudon Foundation announced April 28 that Broadway newcomer Nicholas Barasch, currently appearing in the revival of She Loves Me at Studio 54, will be honored with the 8th Annual Dorothy Loudon Award at the 72nd Annual Theatre World Awards Ceremony May 23 at Circle in the Square Theatre.

The rest of the 2016 Theatre World winners will be announced shortly.

The Dorothy Loudon Award for Excellence in the Theater honors an Outstanding Performance in a Broadway or Off-Broadway production. The late Dorothy Loudon made her Broadway debut in Nowhere to Go But Up, for which she received a Theatre World Award for her performance. She received a Tony Award for her work as Miss Hannigan in Annie, and went on to triumphs originating roles in Noises Off, West Side Waltz and Michael Bennett’s Ballroom.

Barasch is a high school senior at the Professional Children’s School and is currently appearing as Arpad Lazslo in the Roundabout Broadway revival of She Loves Me. He has appeared in the Broadway productions of The Mystery of Edwin Drood, West Side Story and the BAM/New York City Opera Annie Nicole: The Opera.

The Dorothy Loudon Award for Excellence is chosen by the Trustees of The Dorothy Loudon Foundation, Lionel Larner, executive director, together with recommendations from the Theatre World Awards Committee. Past recipients include Leanne Cope, Celia Keenan-Bolger, Jonny Orsini, Susan Pourfar, Seth Numrich, Bobby Steggert and Susan Louise O’Connor.

It was previously announced Golden Globe and three-time Tony Award winner Bernadette Peters will receive the 4th Annual John Willis Award given for lifetime achievement in the theatre to honor the man who created and maintained the Theatre World tradition for 66 years.

Hosted annually by theatre journalist Peter Filichia, the 72nd Annual Theatre World Awards ceremony will be produced by Theatre World Awards, Inc. Board of Directors.

First presented in 1945, the Theatre World Awards are the oldest awards given for Outstanding Broadway and Off-Broadway Debut Performances.

For additional information visit

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Today’s Most Popular News: