Theatre World Awards Sets Honors Ceremony for May 23 at Studio 54

News   Theatre World Awards Sets Honors Ceremony for May 23 at Studio 54
The Theatre World Awards have set May 23 as the date for its forthcoming invitation only ceremony at Studio 54. Winners of the 2005 awards will be announced next month, according to an awards spokesperson.

The honors, which are awarded to performers for making their first major New York stage performance (Broadway or Off-Broadway debuts), will mark its 61st annual citations this year. The event will take place May 23 at Studio 54 from 3:30-6:00 PM.

Last season's Theatre World Awards winners were:

Shannon Cochran, Bug
Stephanie D'Abruzzo, Avenue Q
Mitchel David Federan, The Boy From Oz
Alexander Gemignani, Assassins
Hugh Jackman, The Boy From Oz
Isabel Keating, The Boy From Oz
Sanaa Lathan, A Raisin in the Sun
Jefferson Mays, I Am My Own Wife
Euan Morton, Taboo
Anika Noni Rose, Caroline, or Change
John Tartaglia, Avenue Q
Jennifer Westfeldt, Wonderful Town

Special Theatre World Award
Sarah Jones, bridge & tunnel

First presented in 1945, the Theatre World Awards are among the oldest theatrical awards. Traditionally, a committee of theatre writers choose six men and six women. On occasion, the awards bestow a Special Theatre World Award on "performers, casts or others who have made a particularly lasting impression on the New York theatre scene," as stated on the website. Last year's winners were chosen by a panel that included Playbill's own Harry Haun, Peter Filichia (News 12 New Jersey), Ben Hodges (Theatre World), Matthew Murray (Theatermania), Frank Scheck (Hollywood Reporter), Michael Sommers (The Star Ledger), Linda Winer (Newsday) and John Willis (Theatre World).

Today’s Most Popular News: