Theatre World Awards to Feature Bierko, Breaker, Chenoweth, Tartaglia, Callaway

News   Theatre World Awards to Feature Bierko, Breaker, Chenoweth, Tartaglia, Callaway
Among those scheduled to be presenters at the 65th Annual Theatre World Awards — honoring performers making their New York stage debuts on or Off-Broadway — are a host of previous Theatre World Award winners.
John Tartaglia
John Tartaglia

Presenters will include Craig Bierko (The Music Man, 2000), Daniel Breaker (Passing Strange, 2008), Kristin Chenoweth (Steel Pier, 1997), Tovah Feldshuh (Yentl, 1976), Susan Kellermann (Last Licks, 1980), Loretta Ables Sayre (South Pacific, 2008) and John Tartaglia (Avenue Q, 2004).

The June 2 ceremony at Broadway's Samuel J. Friedman Theatre will also feature performances by former Theatre World Award winners, including Ann Hampton Callaway (Swing!, 2000), Nellie McKay (The Threepenny Opera, 2006) and Vivian Reed (Bubblin' Brown Sugar, 1976). Henry Aronson will be the musical director.

As previously announced, this year's winners include:

  • David Alvarez/Trent Kowalik/Kiril Kulish, Billy Elliot, The Musical
  • Chad L. Coleman, Joe Turner's Come and Gone
  • Jennifer Grace, Our Town
  • Josh Grisetti, Enter Laughing, The Musical
  • Haydn Gwynne, Billy Elliot, The Musical
  • Colin Hanks, 33 Variations
  • Marin Ireland, Reasons To be Pretty
  • Susan Louise O'Connor, Blithe Spirit
  • Condola Rashad, Ruined
  • Geoffrey Rush, Exit the King
  • Josefina Scaglione, West Side Story
  • Wesley Taylor, Rock of Ages


  • Special Award to the entire cast of The Norman Conquests: Amelia Bullmore, Jessica Hynes, Stephen Mangan, Ben Miles, Paul Ritter and Amanda Root Theatre critic-writer Peter Filichia will host the annual event, which will be directed by Barry Keating.

    First presented in 1945, the Theatre World Awards are among the oldest theatrical awards. Traditionally, a committee of theatre writers chooses six men and six women. On occasion, the awards bestow a Special Theatre World Award on "performers, casts or others who have made a particularly lasting impression on the New York theatre scene," as stated on the official Theatre World Awards website.

    Honorees were chosen by the Theatre World Awards committee, which includes David Cote (Time Out New York and NY1), Peter Filichia (The Star-Ledger and TheaterMania), Harry Haun (Playbill), Matthew Murray (Talkin' Broadway), Frank Scheck (New York Post), Doug Watt (Critic Emeritus, New York Daily News) and Linda Winer (Newsday).

    For further information, visit

  • Today’s Most Popular News: