Theatreworks USA 50th Anniversary Celebration, With Nathan Lane, Elaine Stritch, Sara Ramirez, Presented Feb. 12

News   Theatreworks USA 50th Anniversary Celebration, With Nathan Lane, Elaine Stritch, Sara Ramirez, Presented Feb. 12
Theatreworks USA, the nation's leading not-for-profit professional theatre for family audiences, presents its 50th Anniversary Celebration gala Feb. 12 at NYU Skirball Center for the Performing Arts.

Elaine Stritch
Elaine Stritch Photo by Aubrey Reuben

Hosted by Charles Busch and Julie Halston, and co-chaired by Sheldon Harnick, Julie Halpin Anderson and Tony Phelan, the evening boasts the talent of Tony Award winner Elaine Stritch, who is the gala's Special Guest Performer. Special Guest Presenters include Kathleen Chalfant, Nathan Lane and Sara Ramirez.

Doors open at 5:30 PM in advance of the 6 PM performance and the 7:30 PM dinner.

The celebration also features performances from Randy Aaron; Jill Abramowitz; The Book of Mormon cast members Jared Gertner and Nic Rouleau; Brad "Gorilla" Carbone; Matt Castle; Ryan Duncan; Mary Faber; Forever Plaid cast members Bradley Beahen, Frank Galgano, Robb Sapp and Jim Walton; Hudson Flynn; Ann Harada; Sheldon and Margery Harnick; Rose Hemingway; Gwen Hollander; Jamie LaVerdiere; Ian Niederhoffer; Brad Oscar; John Tartaglia; Alan W. Taylor and the Just Off-Broadway Youth Ensemble.

The gala is honoring five individuals "whose longtime professional contributions to Theatreworks USA have helped to shape the organization's impressive five-decades-long history of producing top-quality professional theatre for young audiences," according to a press statement.

Honorees include four-time Tony Award-winning director Jerry Zaks; George Forbes, executive director of the Lucille Lortel Foundation and President of the Off-Broadway Theatre League; Betty Jacobs, longtime Theatreworks USA Board and Founding Circle Member; Theatreworks USA marketing director Barbara Sandek; and NYC Department of Youth & Community development commissioner Jeanne Mullgrav. The performance portion of the evening also includes a live auction by C.K Swett, presentation of the Lee Salk "Good Works" Awards, and a special tribute to Theatreworks USA co-founders Jay Harnick and Charles Hull.

Tickets for the 50th Anniversary Celebration start at $100 (show only) and $500 (dinner and show) and are available by visiting or by calling (212) 647-1100, ext. 126. NYU Skirball Center for the Performing Arts is located at 566 LaGuardia Place at Washington Square North.

Today’s Most Popular News: