Tina Fey to Receive 13th Annual Mark Twain Prize for American Humor

News   Tina Fey to Receive 13th Annual Mark Twain Prize for American Humor
The Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts will award the 13th annual Mark Twain Prize for American Humor to Emmy Award winner Tina Fey.

Tina Fey
Tina Fey

Fey will be honored during a Nov. 9 ceremony in the Kennedy Center's Concert Hall. A host of artists to be announced at a later date will be part of the evening, which will be taped for future television broadcast.

Kennedy Center Chairman David M. Rubenstein stated, "Like Mark Twain, Tina Fey offers her brilliance unconditionally. Throughout her career, she's earned legions of fans for her quick, unapologetic wit and social commentary. The Kennedy Center is pleased to celebrate her broad and successful contributions to the world of comedy."

Fey added, "I am truly thrilled to receive this honor. I assume Betty White was disqualified for steroid use."

The Mark Twain Prize, according to press notes, recognizes "people who have had an impact on American society in ways similar to the distinguished 19th century novelist and essayist best known as Mark Twain. As a social commentator, satirist and creator of characters, Samuel Clemens was a fearless observer of society, who startled many while delighting and informing many more with his uncompromising perspective of social injustice and personal folly. He revealed the great truth of humor when he said 'against the assault of laughter nothing can stand.'"

A "Saturday Night Live" alum, Fey is currently executive producer, creator and star of NBC's three-time, Emmy Award-winning comedy series "30 Rock."

Fey follows previous recipients George Carlin, Billy Crystal, Steve Martin, Richard Pryor, Jonathan Winters, Carl Reiner, Whoopi Goldberg, Bob Newhart, Lily Tomlin, Lorne Michaels and Neil Simon.

For more information visit kennedy-center.org.

Today’s Most Popular News: