Tix for First Wives Club, the Musical, On Sale Starting June 7

News   Tix for First Wives Club, the Musical, On Sale Starting June 7
Tickets to the San Diego world premiere of the Broadway-bound The First Wives Club — A New Musical go on sale June 7. The musical begins July 17 at The Old Globe Theatre toward a July 31 opening.

For tickets call (619) 23-GLOBE, visit the Globe website at www.TheOldGlobe.org, or visit The Globe box office at 1363 Old Globe Way in Balboa Park.

The First Wives Club features a book by Tony Award winner Rupert Holmes (Curtains, The Mystery of Edwin Drood, Say Goodnight Gracie) and a score by Motown hit-makers and Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductees Brian Holland, Lamont Dozier and Eddie Holland, the threesome who created hits for Martha and The Vandellas, The Miracles, Marvin Gaye, The Four Tops and The Supremes.

The popular 1996 Paramount film "The First Wives Club" was based on Olivia Goldsmith's novel and featured a screenplay by Robert Harling. The motion picture grossed over $130 million and starred Bette Midler, Goldie Hawn and Diane Keaton.

The stage production will be directed by award-winning opera and theatre director Francesca Zambello (The Little Mermaid, Little House on the Prairie – The Musical, Rebecca, Porgy and Bess and the Wagner Ring Cycle at the San Francisco Opera where she is the artistic advisor).

The production will run in the Old Globe Theatre to Aug. 23. *

Following its run at The Old Globe, The First Wives Club will be produced on Broadway by Paul Lambert and Jonas Neilson, with a theatre and dates to be announced.

As previously announced, the cast features Tony Award winner Adriane Lenox (Doubt; Kiss Me, Kate) as Elyse, Tony nominee Barbara Walsh (Company, Hairspray) as Brenda, Tony winner Karen Ziemba (Contact, Curtains!) as Annie, Tony nominee John Dossett (Gypsy) as Aaron, Kevyn Morrow (Dreamgirls) as Bill, Tony nominee Brad Oscar (The Producers) as Morty, Sara Chase as Trophy Wife, Tony nominee Sam Harris (The Life) as Duane, Ari Lerner and Austyn Myers alternating as Jason, with Michelle Aravena, Mark Campbell, Thursday Farrar, Jenifer Foote, Bob Gaynor, Matthew LaBanca, Victoria Matlock, Hayley Podschun, Martin Samuel and Richard Waits as the Ensemble.

The creative team includes scenic designer Peter J. Davison (Medea, for which he was nominated for a 1994 Tony Award), costume designer Paul Tazewell (Tony nominee in 2008 for In The Heights, in 2006 for The Color Purple and in 1996 for Bring in 'Da Noise, Bring in 'Da Funk), lighting designer Mark McCullough sound designer Jon Weston, choreographer Lisa Stevens, music supervisor Ron Melrose, conductor John Gentry Tennyson and orchestrator Harold Wheeler.

Today’s Most Popular News: