Tony Administration Committee Assembles April 29

News   Tony Administration Committee Assembles April 29
The Tony Awards Administration Committee assembles for the fourth and final time time during the 2010-2011 season April 29.

The Tony Awards Administration Committee includes ten members designated by the Wing, ten by the League, and one each by the Dramatists Guild, Actors' Equity Association, United Scenic Artists, and the Stage Directors and Choreographers Society. This committee "determines eligibility for nominations in all awards categories, reviews the rules governing the awards, and appoints the Nominating Committee. It may, at its discretion, bestow [four] non-competitive Tony Awards: Special Tony Awards and the Regional Theatre Tony Award; as well as Tony Honors for Excellence in the Theatre and the Isabelle Stevenson Award."

The nominations for the 65th Annual Tony Awards will be announced live from The New York Public Library for the Performing Arts Dorothy and Lewis B. Cullman Center at Lincoln Center May 3. will publish the complete list of nominees that morning.

The American Theatre Wing's 65th Annual Tony Awards will air on CBS June 12 at 8 PM ET live from the Beacon Theatre in New York City. 

The awards, Broadway's highest honor, have been broadcast on CBS since 1978.  This will be the first year that the show will be broadcast from The Beacon Theatre, which is part of the Madison Square Garden portfolio of venues. (As previously reported, Radio City Music Hall, the home of the Tony Awards for the past several years, is unavailable for this year's awards show.)

Broadway productions had to open by April 28 to be eligible for nomination in the 2010-2011 season. The Tony Awards are presented by the American Theatre Wing and The Broadway League.

For more information visit

Today’s Most Popular News: