Tony Administration Committee Assembles Jan. 9

News   Tony Administration Committee Assembles Jan. 9
The Tony Awards Administration Committee assembles Jan. 9, its first meeting of the new year.

The Administration Committee, which meets throughout the season to decide the eligibility for the 2014 Tony Awards, features 24 members, ten designated by the American Theatre Wing, ten by the Broadway League, and one each by the Dramatists Guild, Actors' Equity Association, United Scenic Artists and the Society of Stage Directors and Choreographers.

This committee, according to the Tony Awards, "determines eligibility for nominations in all awards categories and reviews the rules governing the awards. It may, at its discretion, bestow non-competitive Tony Awards including Special Tony Awards, the Regional Theatre Tony Award, and the Isabelle Stevenson Award; as well as Tony Honors for Excellence in the Theatre."

Committee members for 2013-14 are Emanuel Azenberg, Ted Chapin, Michael David, Cecilia Friederichs, Heather Hitchens, David Henry Hwang, Natasha Katz, Paul Libin, Margo Lion, Jo Sullivan Loesser, William Ivey Long, Mary McColl, Kevin McCollum, James L. Nederlander, James M. Nederlander, Enid Nemy, Laura Penn, Judith O. Rubin, Charlotte St. Martin, Peter Schneider, Thomas Schumacher, Ralph Sevush, Philip Smith and David Stone. Alternates are Kara Barnett, Ken Billington, Bill Craver, Brian Drutman, Alan Eisenberg, Gary Garrison, Philip Getter, John Gore, Barry Grove, Todd Haimes, Jeffrey Eric Jenkins, Nick Scandalios, Stuart Thompson and Michael Wilson.

Click here for the 2013-14 Management Committee members; click here for the Nominating Committee members.

Earlier this season, the Tony Awards Administration Committee announced that starting with the 2013-14 theatrical season, New York-based theatre companies will be eligible to receive the Regional Theatre Award. Read the decisions from the most recent Administration Committee meeting here.

For more information visit

Today’s Most Popular News: