Tony Administration Committee Schedules Meeting to Discuss "Possible Infraction" | Playbill

Tony Awards Tony Administration Committee Schedules Meeting to Discuss "Possible Infraction"
The Tony Awards Administration Committee will assemble May 23, a spokesperson for the Tony Awards confirmed to

The Committee, according to a statement, will "discuss any possible infractions by this year's Tony nominated shows. The activities of the meeting are confidential but we expect to have a resolution to this quickly."

The meeting, according to the New York Post, concerns a purported violation concerning a brochure that was sent to Tony voters by Jeffrey Richards, producer of the Tony-nominated revival of Edward Albee's Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf? All material sent by producers of Tony-nominated shows to Tony voters must be approved by the Tony Awards before they are mailed; Richards, the Post says, failed to follow this strictly enforced rule.

The Administration Committee previously met four times throughout the season just ended to decide the eligibility for the 2013 Tony Awards.

The Tony Awards Administration Committee features 24 members, ten designated by the American Theatre Wing, ten by the League, and one each by the Dramatists Guild, Actors' Equity Association, United Scenic Artists and the Stage Directors and Choreographers Society.

This committee, according to the Tony Awards, "determines eligibility for nominations in all awards categories, reviews the rules governing the awards, and appoints the Nominating Committee. It may, at its discretion, bestow non-competitive Tony Awards including Special Tony Awards, the Regional Theatre Tony Award, and the Isabelle Stevenson Award; as well as Tony Honors for Excellence in the Theatre." Committee members for 2012-13 are Emanuel Azenberg, Roger Berlind, Ted Chapin, Cecilia Friederichs, Heather Hitchens, David Henry Hwang, Natasha Katz, Paul Libin, Margo Lion, Jo Sullivan Loesser, William Ivey Long, Mary McColl, Kevin McCollum, James L. Nederlander, James M. Nederlander, Enid Nemy, Laura Penn, Judith O. Rubin, Charlotte St. Martin, Peter Schneider, Thomas Schumacher, Ralph Sevush, Philip J. Smith and David Stone. Alternates are Kara Barnett, Ken Billington, Bill Craver, Michael David, Brian Drutman, Alan Eisenberg, Gary Garrison, Philip Getter, John Gore, Barry Grove, Jeffrey Eric Jenkins, Lonny Price, Nick Scandalios and Stuart Thompson.

For more information on the 67th Annual Tony Awards, visit

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!