Tony Nominee Tovah Feldshuh Is Pippin's New Berthe, Beginning Sept. 24

News   Tony Nominee Tovah Feldshuh Is Pippin's New Berthe, Beginning Sept. 24
Tovah Feldshuh, known for her Tony-nominated work in Golda's Balcony, Saravà, Lend Me a Tenor and Yentl, assumes the role of Berthe — the role she played while Tony Award winner Andrea Martin was on vacation — in the award-winning revival of Pippin beginning Sept. 24.

Tovah Feldshuh
Tovah Feldshuh Photo by Joseph Marzullo/WENN

Feldshuh succeeds Martin, who departed the Tony-winning revival of Stephen Schwartz and Roger O. Hirson's Pippin Sept. 22 to star in the new TV series "Working the Engels," which will film in Toronto.

Read the Playbill magazine feature with Martin, who won a Tony Award for her performance as Berthe in Pippin.

Pippin is directed by Tony Award winner Diane Paulus and features choreography by Tony Award nominee Chet Walker in the style of Bob Fosse and circus creation by Gypsy Snider of the Montreal-based circus company Les 7 doigts de la main (also known as 7 Fingers).

The cast also features Matthew James Thomas as Pippin, Tony Award winner Patina Miller as Leading Player, Tony Award nominee Terrence Mann as Charles, Tony Award nominee Charlotte d'Amboise as Fastrada and Rachel Bay Jones as Catherine.

Other members of the company include Erik Altemus, Grégory Arsenal, Lolita Costet, Colin Cunliffe, Andrew Fitch, Viktoria Grimmy, Sabrina Harper, Preston Jamieson, Olga Karmansky, Luke Kolbe Mannikus, Bethany Moore, Brad Musgrove, Stephanie Pope, Philip Rosenberg, Yannick Thomas, Billy Harrigan Tighe, Molly Tynes, Anthony Wayne, Ashton Woerz. Pippin is the recipient of the 2013 Tony Awards for Best Revival of a Musical, Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role in a Musical (Miller), Best Performance by an Actress in a Featured Role in a Musical (Martin) and Best Direction of a Musical (Paulus).

With a book by Hirson and music and lyrics by Schwartz, Pippin features music supervision and arrangements by Nadia DiGiallonardo, orchestrations by Tony Award winner Larry Hochman, scenic design by Tony Award winner Scott Pask, costume design by Tony Award nominee Dominique Lemieux, lighting design by Tony Award winner Kenneth Posner, sound design by Tony Award nominees Jonathan Deans and Garth Helm.


Today’s Most Popular News: