Tony Nominees Join in Celebration of Brian Stokes Mitchell Today | Playbill

News Tony Nominees Join in Celebration of Brian Stokes Mitchell Today The New Dramatists organization hosts its 66th Annual Spring Luncheon May 14 in honor of Tony winner Brian Stokes Mitchell, presenting him with the group's Distinguished Achievement Award. A host of 2015 Tony nominees are attending the event, including Kelli O'Hara (The King and I), Robert Fairchild (An American in Paris), Michael Cerveris (Fun Home), Geneva Carr (Hand to God) and Leanne Cope (An American in Paris).

The luncheon will feature musical performances from a handful of Mitchell's most memorable shows including Tony winnder Leslie Uggams (King Hedley) , Leslie Odom, Jr. (Hamilton), Nicolette Robinson (Brooklynite) and Tony nominee Stephanie D'Abruzzo (Avenue Q). President and CEO of The Actors’ Fund of America, Joe Benincas will aslo pay a special tribute. 

Brian Stokes Mitchell

Other Tony nominees attending include Lisa Kron, Jeanine Tesori, Beth Malone, Sydney Lucas, Judy Kuhn and Sam Gold from Fun Home; Tony Yazbeck (On the Town); Alex Sharp (The Curious Incident); Ruthie Ann Miles (The King and I); Brad Oscar (Something Rotten!); Christopher Wheeldon, Brandon Uranowitz and Max von Essen from An American in Paris; and Lydia Leonard and Nathaniel Parker from Wolf Hall

They are joined by Clyde Alves, Alysha Umphress and Jay Armstrong Johnson from On The Town; Emily Skeggs (Fun Home); Tonya Pinkins (Caroline, Or Change); Rosie Perez (Fish in the Dark); Kate Reinders (Something Rotten!); Rob McClure (Honeymoon in Vegas); Elizabeth Stanley (On the Town); Veanne Cox and Jill Paice from An American in Paris; Lucy Simon, Paul Nolan and Lora Lee Gayer from Doctor ZhivagoMontego Glover (It Shoulda Been You); Marc Kudisch (Hand to God); Lynn Cohen (Big Love); Blythe Danner (The Country House); George C. Wolfe (Lucky Guy); Allyson Tucker (Man of La Mancha); Karen Pittman (Disgraced); Jack O'Brien (It's Only a Play); and Leah C. Gardiner (born bad). 

Every year, New Dramatists celebrates an individual who has made an outstanding artistic contribution to the theatre community.

"Working in a community of playwrights, one becomes aware that the life of artists and the making of art is anything but effortless," said Emily Morse, artistic director of New Dramatists, in an earlier press statement. "Any performance given by Brian Stokes Mitchell appears effortless. With his deep, resonant voice, and commanding stage presence, he not only sings a song, he makes it soar. Additionally, through his work at The Actors Fund, Mr. Mitchell is dedicated to serving fellow artists. Voice, artistry and community are greatly valued at New Dramatists. That Mr. Mitchell gracefully embodies these values makes him an ideal Luncheon honoree. We look forward to celebrating him this spring." Stokes Mitchell has numerous Broadway, film and television credits and has performed around the country in some of the most prestigious concert halls. His Broadway career includes Man of La Mancha; Kiss Me, Kate; Ragtime; and King Hedley II.

Past recipients of the Distinguished Achievement Award include Susan Stroman, Seth Gelblum, Bernadette Peters, Julie Taymor and Chita Rivera.

The luncheon is held at the New York Marriott Marquis, located at 1535 Broadway, New York.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!