Tony Rulings: Kiki & Herb and Jay Johnson Are Theatrical Events

News   Tony Rulings: Kiki & Herb and Jay Johnson Are Theatrical Events
The Tony Awards Administration Committee assembled for the second time this season Nov. 30. The Committee discussed the eligibility of nine Broadway shows that have opened so far this season.

Those shows include Kiki & Herb: Alive on Broadway, Martin Short: Fame Becomes Me, Jay Johnson: The Two and Only, Heartbreak House, Losing Louie, Butley, The Times They Are A-Changin', Dr. Seuss' How the Grinch Stole Christmas and Grey Gardens.

Both Kiki & Herb: Alive on Broadway and the recently closed Jay Johnson: The Two and Only will be eligible for nomination in the Special Theatrical Event category.

On the musical front:
The only actors in The Times They Are A-Changin’ who will be eligible for nomination in the Lead Actor/Actress in a Musical categories are Michael Arden, Thom Sesma and Lisa Brescia.

Patrick Page will be the only actor from Dr. Seuss’ How the Grinch Stole Christmas eligible for a Lead Actor in a Musical Tony nomination.

On the play front:
In the revival of Heartbreak House actors Byron Jennings, Lily Rabe and Laila Robins will be eligible for nomination in the Featured Actor or Actress in a Play categories. All other decisions were consistent with the opening-night credits.

The Administration Committee will assemble three additional times this season to discuss eligibility of shows that opened on Broadway during the 2006-2007 season.

The Tony Awards Administration Committee, according to the official Tony Award website, "is comprised of 24 members, of whom 10 are designated by the Wing, 10 by the League, and one each by the Dramatists Guild, Actors' Equity Association, United Scenic Artists, and the Society of Stage Directors and Choreographers."

As previously announced, the 61st Annual Antoinette Perry "Tony" Awards — saluting the best of the Broadway theatre season — will be presented June 10, 2007, at Radio City Music Hall.

Nominations for the 2007 Tony Awards will be announced May 15, 2007. The cut-off date for eligibility for the 2006-2007 theatre season is May 9.

The Tony Awards are presented by Tony Award Productions, a joint venture of the League of American Theatres and Producers and the American Theatre Wing. Visit for more information.

Today’s Most Popular News: