Tony Winner Andrea Martin Will Depart Pippin for Canadian Television Comedy "Working the Engels"

News   Tony Winner Andrea Martin Will Depart Pippin for Canadian Television Comedy "Working the Engels"
Tony Award winner Andrea Martin, who can currently be seen in Pippin, will depart the Tony-winning revival of that Stephen Schwartz-Roger O. Hirson musical to star in "Working the Engels," producers for the production announced Aug. 28. 

Andrea Martin
Andrea Martin Photo by Joan Marcus

Martin will depart the production following the Sept. 22 performance to lead the cast of "Working the Engels," which will film in Toronto. A replacement for the role of Berthe will be announced at a later date.

As previously reported, the sitcom, from Halfire-CORE Entertainment, is penned by Katie Ford ("Miss Congeniality," "Desperate Housewives") and Jane Ford ("Listen Missy," "Material World") and will be given 12 episodes this fall. Martin will play Ceil Engel, the overly confident matriarch of the Engel clan.

Martin is also a Tony Award winner for her performance in My Favorite Year and was Tony-nominated for Candide, Oklahoma! and Young Frankenstein

Read the Playbill magazine feature with Martin, who won a Tony Award for her performance as Berthe in Pippin.

"Working The Engels" is produced by Halfire-CORE Entertainment with Katie Ford, Jane Ford, Howard Busgang, Tom Nursall and Noreen Halpern serving as executive producers. Pippin is directed by Tony Award winner Diane Paulus and features choreography by Tony Award nominee Chet Walker in the style of Bob Fosse and circus creation by Gypsy Snider of the Montreal-based circus company Les 7 doigts de la main (also known as 7 Fingers).

The cast features Matthew James Thomas as Pippin, Tony Award winner Patina Miller as Leading Player, Tony Award nominee Terrence Mann as Charles, Tony Award nominee Charlotte d’Amboise as Fastrada, Rachel Bay Jones as Catherine and two-time Tony Award winner Andrea Martin as Berthe.

Other members of the company include Erik Altemus, Grégory Arsenal, Lolita Costet, Colin Cunliffe, Andrew Fitch, Viktoria Grimmy, Sabrina Harper, Preston Jamieson, Olga Karmansky, Luke Kolbe Mannikus, Bethany Moore, Brad Musgrove, Stephanie Pope, Philip Rosenberg, Yannick Thomas, Billy Harrigan Tighe, Molly Tynes, Anthony Wayne, Ashton Woerz.

Pippin is the recipient of the 2013 Tony Awards for Best Revival of a Musical, Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role in a Musical (Miller), Best Performance by an Actress in a Featured Role in a Musical (Martin) and Best Direction of a Musical (Paulus).

With a book by Hirson and music and lyrics by Schwartz, Pippin features music supervision and arrangements by Nadia DiGiallonardo, orchestrations by Tony Award winner Larry Hochman, scenic design by Tony Award winner Scott Pask, costume design by Tony Award nominee Dominique Lemieux, lighting design by Tony Award winner Kenneth Posner, sound design by Tony Award nominees Jonathan Deans and Garth Helm.


Today’s Most Popular News: