Tony Winner Brian Stokes Mitchell Among Recipients of 2012 National Arts Awards

News   Tony Winner Brian Stokes Mitchell Among Recipients of 2012 National Arts Awards
Tony Award winner Brian Stokes Mitchell will be among the recipients of the 2012 National Arts Awards. Mitchell will receive the Outstanding Contributions to the Arts Award Oct. 15 in Manhattan.

Americans for the Arts, the organization for advancing the arts and arts education in the United States, will also present Paul G. Allen with the Eli & Edythe Broad Award for Philanthropy in the Arts; James Rosenquist with the Isabella and Theodor Dalenson Lifetime Achievement Award; Josh Groban with the Bell Family Foundation Young Artist Award; and Lin Arison with the Arts Education Award.

The annual awards recognize artists and arts leaders who "exhibit exemplary national leadership and whose work demonstrates extraordinary artistic achievement."

"At Americans for the Arts we are thrilled to be honoring such a tremendous group of artistic visionaries and leaders," said Robert L. Lynch, the organization's president and CEO, in a statement. "Paul, Jim, Stokes, Josh and Lin have all strengthened America's artistic and cultural legacy. Their storied and extraordinary achievements will no doubt serve as inspiration for generations to come."

The awards will be presented Oct. 15 at Cipriani during National Arts and Humanities Month. Dancer and choreographer and former National Arts Awards honoree Mikhail Baryshnikov and American sculptor Richard Serra will be among the evening's presenters. The ceremony will also include installations of work by visual artist Julie Mehretu and a special musical performance by YoungArts.

Mitchell, who was recently seen on the Fox musical series "Glee," won the Tony Award in 2000 for his performance in Kiss Me, Kate and was nominated for Man of La Mancha, King Hedley II and Ragtime. He has also been seen on Broadway in Women on the Verge..., Love/Life, Kiss of the Spider Woman and Mail, among others.  Past honorees of The National Arts Awards include Edward Albee, Herb Alpert, Marian Anderson, Dame Julie Andrews, Wallis Annenberg, George Balanchine, John Baldessari, Alec Baldwin, Leonard Bernstein, Christo and Jeanne-Claude, Chuck Close, Aretha Franklin, Martha Graham, Frank O. Gehry, Agnes Gund, Jake Gyllenhaal, Helen Hayes, Martha Rivers Ingram, Judith Jamison, Sheila C. Johnson, Ellsworth Kelly, Angela Lansbury, Jacob Lawrence, John Legend, Gerald M. Levin, Wynton Marsalis, Kate and Laura Mulleavy (Rodarte), Yoko Ono, Joseph Papp, Natalie Portman, Phil Ramone, Robert Redford, Salman Rushdie, Martin Scorsese, Cindy Sherman, Beverly Sills, Anna Deavere Smith, Stephen Sondheim, David Rockefeller, Sr., Isaac Stern, Billy Taylor, Paul Taylor, Uma Thurman, Kerry Washington, Wendy Wasserstein, Sanford I. Weill and Kehinde Wiley.

For more information, visit

Today’s Most Popular News: