Tony Winner Twyla Tharp Honored With Capezio Dance Award | Playbill

Related Articles
News Tony Winner Twyla Tharp Honored With Capezio Dance Award The Capezio Ballet Makers Dance Foundation announced that Tony winner Twyla Tharp is the recipient of the 62nd annual Capezio Dance Award.

The Capezio Dance Award, which has been awarded annually since 1952, recognizes significant contributions to American dance by an individual, company or institution.

"We are thrilled to be presenting our 62nd award to the enormously talented Twyla Tharp. Her long, illustrious career has made a great impact in the dance field and her body of work has brought so much pleasure to many audiences worldwide," Lisa Giacoio Egan, president of the Capezio Ballet Makers Dance Foundation, said in a statement.

Tharp performed with the Paul Taylor Dance Company before founding her own company, Twyla Tharp Dance. She has choreographed more than 160 works, including 129 dances, 12 television specials, six Hollywood movies, four full-length ballets, four Broadway shows and two figure-skating routines.

Tharp has also created dances for the Joffrey Ballet, ABT, Paris Opera Ballet, The Royal Ballet, New York City Ballet, The Australian Ballet and the Martha Graham Dance Company,

Her Broadway work includes Push Comes to Shove, The Catherine Wheel, Singin' in the Rain, Movin' Out, The Times They Are A-Changin' and Come Fly Away.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!