Tony-Winning Once On This Island Revival Ends Broadway Run January 6 | Playbill

Broadway News Tony-Winning Once On This Island Revival Ends Broadway Run January 6 The Stephen Flaherty and Lynn Ahrens musical opened in December 2017 at the Circle in the Square Theatre.

The Tony-winning revival of Once On This Island plays its final performance on Broadway January 6 at Circle in the Square Theatre.

Upon closing, the critically acclaimed production played 29 previews and 458 regular performances. The musical officially opened December 3, 2017.

Once On This Island was nominated for nine 2018 Tony Awards, winning for Best Revival of a Musical. Hailey Kilgore, who was Tony-nominated for her leading performance as Ti Moune, also received a 2018 Theatre World Award.

The current cast also includes Tony winner Lea Salonga (Erzulie), Tamyra Gray (Papa Ge), Quentin Earl Darrington (Agwe), Alex Newell (Asaka), Juliet Benn (Little Girl), Courtnee Carter (Storyteller), Cicily Daniels (Storyteller), Tyler Hardwick (Storyteller), Boise Holmes (Tonton Julian), Cassondra James (Storyteller), David Jennings (Armand), Kenita R. Miller (Mama Euralie), Isaac Powell (Daniel), T. Oliver Reid (Storyteller), Anna Uzele (Storyteller), Allan K. Washington (Storyteller), Aurelia Williams (Storyteller), Mia Williamson (Little Girl), and Daniel Yearwood (Storyteller).


Tony nominee Michael Arden directed, with choreography by Tony nominee Camille A. Brown.

Once On This Island unfolds as a group of storytellers—caught in the midst of an unrelenting storm—recount the tale of Ti Moune, a Caribbean island country girl in love with an aristocrat.

The musical, featuring a book and lyrics by Tony winner Lynn Ahrens and music by Tony winner Stephen Flaherty, is based on the novel My Love, My Love by Rosa Guy. The Broadway revival features new orchestrations by original orchestrator, Tony winner Michael Starobin, joined by Tony nominee AnnMarie Milazzo. The design team includes sets by Dane Laffrey, costumes by Clint Ramos, lighting design by Jules Fisher and Peggy Eisenhauer, sound design by Peter Hylenski, and casting by Telsey + Co.

Ken Davenport and Hunter Arnold are lead producers on the first-ever Broadway revival of the 1990 musical, which marked the Broadway debut of Tony-winning musical theatre writing team Ahrens and Flaherty. Additional producers include Carl Daikeler, Roy Putrino, Broadway Strategic Return Fund, Sandi Moran, Caiola Productions, H. Richard Hopper, Diego Kolankowsky, Brian Cromwell Smith, Ron Kastner, Rob Kolson, Judith Manocherian, Kevin Lyle, Jay Alix, Una Jackman, Jeff Wise, WitzEnd Productions, Jeff Grove, Wishnie-Strasberg, Mark Ferris, Michelle Riley, Marie Stevenson, Silva Theatrical Group, Jesse McKendry, Dr. Mojgan Fajiram, Conor Bagley, Brendan C. Tetro, Invisible Wall Productions, SilverWalport Productions, Tyler Mount, UshkowitzLatimer Productions, Reilly Hickey, The Harbert Family, Keith Cromwell, Red Mountain Theatre Company, 42nd.Club, The Yonnone Family, and Island Productions. The associate producers are Kayla Greenspan and Valerie Novakoff.

In February 2018 it was announced that Once On This Island will launch a North American tour in fall 2019. The tour will play The Center Theatrre Group in Los Angeles, with additional cities to be announced.

Behind the Magic of Clint Ramos’ Once on This Island Costumes

(Updated January 6, 2019)
Recommended Reading:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!