Top 10 Finalists Named for New Season of "American Idol"

News   Top 10 Finalists Named for New Season of "American Idol"
The top 10 finalists for the new season of "American Idol" have been announced.

The 10 artists who will compete for the "American Idol" crown include Lazaro Arbos, Janelle Arthur, Curtis Finch, Jr., Candice Glover, Kree Harrison, Amber Holcomb, Paul Jolley, Angie Miller, Burnell Taylor and Devin Velez.

Host Ryan Seacrest also announced an opportunity for fans to choose an 11th Idol to go on the "American Idol Live!" tour this summer. Next week the singing competition will have a sing-off between the sixth-place runner-up girl and guy for that coveted spot.

On the March 13 broadcast, which begins at 8 PM ET, the Top 10 finalists will perform "Music of the American Idols,” which includes songs performed by any past "Idol" winner.

One contestant will be eliminated from the competition during the March 14 broadcast, which also begins at 8 PM. The evening will also feature performances by Bon Jovi ("Because We Can") and "American Idol" winner Phillip Phillips ("Gone, Gone, Gone"). "Gone, Gone, Gone" will also serve as the “goodbye” song of the season and will be featured when the Idol finalists are eliminated each week.

Former "American Idol" contestants who have taken to Broadway after their stint on "Idol" include Fantasia Barrino (The Color Purple), Clay Aiken (Spamalot), Constantine Maroulis (Rock of Ages), Diana DeGarmo (Hairspray), Frenchie Davis (Rent) and Jordin Sparks (In the Heights) as well as former "Idol" judge Kara DioGuardi (Chicago), among others.

Today’s Most Popular News: