Top 13 "American Idol" Finalists Named; Competition Will Pay Tribute to Whitney Houston

News   Top 13 "American Idol" Finalists Named; Competition Will Pay Tribute to Whitney Houston
The Top 13 "American Idol" finalists were revealed during the live March 1 broadcast of the famed singing competition.

Those who will vie for the title of "American Idol" are DeAndre Brackensick, Hollie Cavanagh, Colton Dixon, Heejun Han, Jermaine Jones, Skylar Laine, Joshua Ledet, Shannon Magrane, Phillip Phillips, Jeremy Rosado, Jessica Sanchez, Elise Testone and Erika Van Pelt. America voted for the Top 10, and judges Randy Jackson, Jennifer Lopez and Steven Tyler chose Brackensick, Rosado and Van Pelt to continue in the competition.

On the March 7 broadcast (8 PM ET), the program will celebrate its 400th episode; the Top 13 will be mentored by Mary J. Blige as the young men take on the music of Stevie Wonder and the young women pay tribute to Whitney Houston. The results show will air March 8 at 8 PM ET and will feature performances by Blige and Season 10 runner-up Lauren Alaina.

To find out more about the finalists, visit

Former "American Idol" contestants who have taken to Broadway after their stint on "Idol" include Fantasia Barrino (The Color Purple), Clay Aiken (Spamalot), Constantine Maroulis (Rock of Ages), Diana DeGarmo (Hairspray), Frenchie Davis (Rent) and Jordin Sparks (In the Heights) as well as former "Idol" judge Kara DioGuardi (Chicago), among others.

"American Idol" is produced by 19 Entertainment, a division of CKX, Inc. and FremantleMedia North America, Inc. The series is created and executive-produced by Simon Fuller, CEO, XIX Entertainment, and executive-produced by Cecile Frot-Coutaz, CEO, FremantleMedia North America, Inc.; Ken Warwick, Executive Producer, FremantleMedia North America, Inc.; and Nigel Lythgoe, CEO, Nigel Lythgoe Productions.

Today’s Most Popular News: