Tori Amos' The Light Princess Cast Album Sets Release Date; Check Out the Beautiful Cover Art | Playbill

News Tori Amos' The Light Princess Cast Album Sets Release Date; Check Out the Beautiful Cover Art A cast album of the London production of The Light Princess, the new musical by Grammy Award winner Tori Amos, will be released this fall.

The award-winning musician tweeted that the recording will be available Oct. 9.

The Light Princess, which features music and lyrics by Amos and book and lyrics by Samuel Adamson, opened at the National's Lyttelton Theatre in October 2013. Described in press materials as a "dark fairytale about grief, rebellion and the power of love," it was directed by Marianne Elliott.

The album, which was recorded in Amos' U.K. studio, reunites the complete National Theatre cast. The album will be released from Universal Records.

The original London cast featured Amy Booth-Steel, Stephanie Bron, Vivien Carter, James Charlton, Rosalie Craig (Althea), Hal Fowler, Owain Gwynn, Nicola Hart, Nick Hendrix (Digby), C J Johnson, Luke Johnson, David Langham, Richard Lowe, Tommy Luther, Jamie Muscato, Emma Norin, Malinda Parris, Kane Oliver Parry, Adam Pearce, Caspar Phillipson, Laura Pitt-Pulford, Clive Rowe, Nuno Silva, Phoebe Street, Ben Thompson and Lynne Wilmot. The show is  "set in opposing kingdoms that are home to a princess and a prince who have lost their mothers. Althea, unable to cry, became light with grief and floated, and so was locked away. Digby became so heavy-hearted that he could never smile, and so was trained as a warrior. One day, he declares war. Althea is forced out of hiding and down to ground but, in defiance of her father, she escapes, only to encounter the solemn prince on contested land. Beside a lake the warring heirs begin a passionate and illicit affair. But for Althea to find real love, she must first confront the world’s darkness and face her own deepest fears."

Amos is a multi Grammy-nominated singer/composer/pianist whose catalogue of 13 albums have sold more than 12 million copies. They include her debut 1992 album "Little Earthquakes," "Under The Pink" in 1994 (with the worldwide hit "Cornflake Girl"); and "Boys For Pele" in 1996 which featured the U.K. chart-topping "Professional Widow." Her latest two recordings have been on the classical label Deutsche Grammophon, for whom her label debut "Night of Hunters" won an Echo Music Award in 2012, and with which she also made history by becoming the first woman simultaneously to have a top 10 album on the U.S. Billboard Charts in the Classical, Alternative and Rock Categories.

View the trailer below:

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!