Two-Disc Deluxe Edition of Les Misérables Film Soundtrack Sets March Release Date

News   Two-Disc Deluxe Edition of Les Misérables Film Soundtrack Sets March Release Date
A two-disc deluxe edition of the soundtrack for the Golden Globe-winning film adaptation of Les Misérables will be released in March.

Hugh Jackman
Hugh Jackman Photo by Universal Pictures

The two-disc deluxe album, which will be released March 19, will include 22 tracks that were previously unreleased on an earlier highlights album. Songs noticeably absent from the December 2012, single-disc, 20-track highlights album include "A Little Fall of Rain," "Do You Hear the People Sing" and "Lovely Ladies."

"Post-production on the Les Misérables film was extremely tight, with recording of the orchestra, final edit and sound mix having to be completed in only a few weeks. There was only enough time to remix a limited number of tracks so that at least a highlights album could be released for the fans before Christmas," producer Cameron Mackintosh said in a statement.

The new packaging will also feature additional production notes and never-before-seen photos from the film, which was directed by Tom Hooper.

Individuals who purchased the highlights version will be able to complete their collection by purchasing the additional deluxe tracks independently.

The cast, including Hugh Jackman, Russell Crowe, Anne Hathaway and Aaron Tveit, recorded all of their singing live during filming, listening to piano accompaniment through a hidden earpiece. A 70-piece orchestra later gathered in London to record the full orchestrations that are featured in the film and on the soundtrack. The film stars Jackman as Valjean; Crowe as Javert; Hathaway as Fantine; Tveit as Enjolras; Helena Bonham Carter as Madame Thenardier; Amanda Seyfried as Cosette; Eddie Redmayne as Marius; Samantha Barks as Eponine; George Blagden as student Grantaire; Sacha Baron Cohen as Thenardier; and Daniel Huttlestone as child-hero Gavroche.

The track listing for the previously-released highlights album follows:

"Look Down" (Hugh Jackman, Russell Crowe and The Convicts)
"The Bishop" (Colm Wilkinson)
"Valjean's Soliloquy" (Hugh Jackman)
"At the End of the Day" (Hugh Jackman, Anne Hathaway, The Factory Girls and Cast)
"I Dreamed a Dream" (Anne Hathaway)
"The Confrontation" (Hugh Jackman and Anne Hathaway)
"Castle On a Cloud" (Isabelle Allen)
"Master of the House" (Sacha Baron Cohen and Helena Bonham Carter)
"Suddenly" (Hugh Jackman)
"Stars" (Russell Crowe)
"ABC Cafe/Red and Black" (Eddie Redmayne, Aaron Tveit and Cast)
"In My Life"/"A Heart Full of Love" (Amanda Seyfried, Eddie Redmayne, Samantha Barks)
"On My Own" (Samantha Barks)
"One Day More" (Cast)
"Drink With Me" (Eddie Redmayne, Daniel Huttlestone and Cast)
"Bring Him Home" (Hugh Jackman)
"The Final Battle" (Cast)
"Javert's Suicide" (Russell Crowe)
"Empty Chairs at Empty Tables" (Eddie Redmayne)
"Epilogue" (Amanda Seyfriend, Hugh Jackman, Eddie Redmayne, Anne Hathaway, Colm Wilkinson and Cast)

* also offers numerous cast albums and theatre recordings.

Today’s Most Popular News: