U.K.'s Evening Standard Theatre Awards Announce Longlist of Potential Nominees

News   U.K.'s Evening Standard Theatre Awards Announce Longlist of Potential Nominees
Shortlist to follow October 24; winners to be announced November 13.
Glenn Close Richard Hubert Smith

The Evening Standard has published a longlist from whom the eligible nominees will be drawn for contention in the paper’s 62nd annual Theatre Awards ceremony. The shortlist will be revealed October 24, and the winners announced in a ceremony, to be hosted by Evening Standard owner Evgeny Lebedev and Sir Elton John, at London's Old Vic November 13.

Glenn Close, Noma Dumezweni, Ralph Fiennes, Ian McKellen, James Norton, Billie Piper, and Patrick Stewart are among the eligible actors.

Shows are eligible for the awards if they opened in London between November 22, 2015, and September 30, 2016.

The best musical award is voted for by the public in the Radio 2 Audience Award; the shortlist for this has already been announced and comprises Funny Girl (Menier Chocolate Factory and Savoy Theatre), Groundhog Day (Old Vic), Guys and Dolls (Savoy/Phoenix Theatres), Jesus Christ Superstar (Open Air Theatre, Regent's Park), Our Ladies of Perpetual Succour (National's Dorfman Theatre), and Sunset Boulevard (London Coliseum).

The full longlist is as follows:

Best Actor
Kenneth Branagh, The Entertainer (Garrick)
Dominic Cooper, The Libertine (Theatre Royal Bath/Theatre Royal Haymarket)
O-T Fagbenle, Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom (National Theatre, Lyttelton)
Ralph Fiennes, The Master Builder (Old Vic)/Richard III (Almeida)
James McArdle, Platonov (Chichester Festival Theatre/National Theatre, Olivier)
Simon McBurney, The Encounter (Edinburgh International Festival/Barbican)
Ian McKellen, No Man’s Land (Wyndham’s)
James Norton, Bug (Found111)
Stephen Rea, Cyprus Avenue (Royal Court, Jerwood Upstairs)
Danny Sapani, Les Blancs (National Theatre, Olivier)
Patrick Stewart, No Man’s Land (Wyndham’s)
Ian McKellen and Patrick Stewart in No Man's Land

Natasha Richardson Award for Best Actress
Gemma Arterton, Nell Gwynn (Apollo)
Noma Dumezweni, Linda (Royal Court, Jerwood Downstairs)
Helen McCrory, The Deep Blue Sea (National Theatre, Lyttelton)
Janet McTeer, Les Liaisons Dangereuses (Donmar)
Sophie Melville, Iphigenia in Splott (Sherman Theatre/National Theatre, Temporary Theatre)
Billie Piper, Yerma (Young Vic)

Best Musical Performance
Gina Beck, Show Boat (New London Theatre)
Glenn Close, Sunset Boulevard (Coliseum)
Andy Karl, Groundhog Day (Old Vic)
Jenna Russell, Grey Gardens (Southwark Playhouse)
Sheridan Smith, Funny Girl (Menier Chocolate Factor/Savoy Theatre)
Rebecca Trehearn, Show Boat (New London)
Michael Xavier, Sunset Boulevard (Coliseum)

Best Play
Father Comes Home from the Wars, Parts 1, 2 & 3 by Suzan-Lori Parks (Royal Court, Jerwood Downstairs)
The Flick by Annie Baker (National Theatre, Dorfman)
Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by Jack Thorne, J K Rowling & John Tiffany (Palace Theatre)
The Invisible Hand by Ayad Akhtar (Tricycle)
Iphigenia in Splott by Gary Owen (Sherman Theatre/National Theatre, Temporary Theatre)
Monster Raving Loony by James Graham (Theatre Royal Plymouth/Soho)

Milton Shulman Award for Best Director
Dominic Cooke, Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom (National Theatre, Lyttelton)
Marianne Elliott, Husbands and Sons (National Theatre, Dorfman)
Yaël Farber, Les Blancs (National Theatre, Olivier)
Sam Gold, The Flick (National Theatre, Dorfman)
Rupert Goold, Richard III (Almeida)
Robert Icke, Uncle Vanya (Almeida)
John Malkovich, Good Canary (Rose Kingston)
Sean Mathias, No Man’s Land (Wyndham’s)
Katie Mitchell, Cleansed (National Theatre, Dorfman)
Simon Stone, Yerma (Young Vic)
John Tiffany, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child (Palace)
Matthew Warchus, Groundhog Day (Old Vic)

Best Revival
Les Blancs, National Theatre, Olivier (directed by Yaël Farber)
Blue/Orange, Young Vic (directed by Matthew Xia)
Cleansed, National Theatre, Dorfman (directed by Katie Mitchell)
Les Liaisons Dangereuses, Donmar (directed by Josie Rourke)
Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom, National Theatre, Lyttelton (dir Dominic Cooke)
No Man’s Land, Wyndham’s (directed by Sean Mathias)
Richard III, Almeida (directed by Rupert Goold)
Uncle Vanya, Almeida (directed by Robert Icke)
Yerma, Young Vic (directed by Simon Stone)
Young Chekhov: Platonov, Ivanov & The Seagull, Chichester Festival Theatre/National Theatre, Olivier (directed by Jonathan Kent)

Best Design
Jon Bausor, You For Me For You (Royal Court, Jerwood Upstairs)
Miriam Buether, Boy (Almeida)/Wild (Hampstead)
Bunny Christie, Husbands and Sons (National Theatre, Dorfman)
Gareth Fry (sound design), The Encounter (Edinburgh International Festival/Barbican)
Rob Howell, The Master Builder (Old Vic)/Groundhog Day (Old Vic)
Christine Jones, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child (Palace)
David Zinn, The Flick (National Theatre, Dorfman)

Charles Wintour Award for Most Promising Playwright
Jon Brittain, Rotterdam (Theatre503/Trafalgar Studios)
Zoe Cooper, Jess and Zoe Forever (Orange Tree)
David Ireland, Cyprus Avenue (Royal Court, Jerwood Upstairs)
Charlene James, Cuttin’ It (Young Vic/Royal Court/The Yard/Sheffield Theatres)
Nathaniel Martello-White, Torn (Royal Court, Jerwood Upstairs)
Chris Urch, The Rolling Stone (Manchester Royal Exchange/ Orange Tree)

Emerging Talent Award in Partnership with Burberry
Jaygann Ayeh, The Flick (National Theatre, Dorfman)
Anthony Boyle, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child (Palace)
Callie Cooke, Firebird (Hampstead Theatre Downstairs & Trafalgar Studios)
Karla Crome, Linda (Royal Court, Jerwood Downstairs)
Sean Delaney, Labyrinth (Hampstead)
Aoife Duffin, A Girl is a Half-formed Thing (Samuel Beckett Theatre, Dublin & Young Vic)/ The Taming of the Shrew (Shakespeare’s Globe)
Tyrone Huntley, Jesus Christ Superstar (Regent’s Park Open Air Theatre)
Adelle Leonce, Torn (Royal Court, Jerwood Upstairs)
Freya Mavor, Good Canary (Rose Kingston)

Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Today’s Most Popular News: