Uma Thurman's "Smash" Turn Is Emmy-Nominated, So Is Choreography and Music; Jim Parsons, Denis O'Hare, Tonys Also Honored | Playbill

Related Articles
News Uma Thurman's "Smash" Turn Is Emmy-Nominated, So Is Choreography and Music; Jim Parsons, Denis O'Hare, Tonys Also Honored Nominations for the 64th Prime Time Emmy Awards, celebrating the best in American-presented television, were announced July 19. Theatre-related nominees include choreographer Joshua Bergasse ("Smash"), songwriters Marc Shaiman and Scott Wittman, London stage star Benedict Cumberbatch for the miniseries "Sherlock," and Broadway's Jim Parsons, currently of Harvey, for "The Big Bang Theory."

Uma Thurman on
Uma Thurman on "Smash." Photo by Will Hart/NBC

Uma Thurman was nominated as Guest Actress in a Drama Series for her work as a needy star in the new musical series "Smash." In the category of Outstanding Choreography, Joshua Bergasse was nominated for his work on the "Smash" musical numbers "National Pastime," "Let's Be Bad" and "Never Met a Wolf…"

Tony Award winner Marc Shaiman (Hairspray), along with Christian Bacon, was also nominated for Outstanding Music Composition For a Series (Original Dramatic Score) for "Smash," for the "Publicity" episode. Shaiman (composer-lyricist) and Hairspray collaborator Scott Wittman (lyricist) were also nominated for their song "Let Me Be Your Star" from the "Smash" pilot. (Shaiman was also Emmy-nominated for co-writing the 2012 Academy Awards show.)

In the category of Special Class Programs, the 65th Annual Tony Awards was nominated for an Emmy. Director Glenn Weiss was also nominated, as were writers Dave Boone and Paul Greenberg. Steve Bass, production designer, and Seth Easter, art director, were nommed in the Art Direction/Variety or Nonfiction category.

Cry-Baby songwriters Adam Schlesinger (music) and David Javerbaum (lyrics) were nominated for their song "It's Not Just For Gays Anymore" on the "65th Annual Tony Awards," from 2011.

Jim Parsons
Baldwin and Parsons were nominated in the category of Lead Actor in a Comedy Series. Cumberbatch (Frankenstein) was nommed for Lead Actor in a Miniseries or Movie for the "Scandal in Belgravia" episode of "Sherlock," the British series that reinvents detective Sherlock Holmes as a 21st-century crime-fighter. Other 2012 Emmy acting nominees with ties to the stage include Jesse Tyler Ferguson, the late Kathryn Joosten, Edie Falco, Ty Burrell, Bobby Cannavale, Maggie Smith, Julianna Margulies, Kathy Bates, Michael C. Hall, Christine Baranski, Merritt Wever, Martha Plimpton, Dylan Baker, Woody Harrelson, Mare Winningham, Denis O'Hare, David Strathairn, Ed Harris and more.

Broadway and Encores! music director Rob Berman was nominated (along with Rob Mathes) in the category of Outstanding Music Direction for "The Kennedy Center Honors." In the same category, Bill Elliott was nominated for "Michael Feinstein: The Sinatra Legacy" and Michael Tilson Thomas was nominated for the PBS "Great Performances" program "The Thomashefskys: Music And Memories of a Life in the Yiddish Theater."

The PBS "Great Performances" broadcast of Broadway's Memphis was Emmy-nommed in the category of Outstanding Technical Direction, Camerawork, Video Control (Miniseries, Movie or Special), noting the work of technical director Steven Cimino and camera and video control personnel.

The Emmy Awards will be handed out Sept. 23. ABC will broadcast the 7 PM (ET) ceremony.


Playbill Goes On Set with NBC's Broadway-Themed "Smash":


Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!