Upcoming Cast Recordings

News   Upcoming Cast Recordings
Here is a survey of upcoming and recent cast album releases (and significant Broadway related recordings.)


The Music Man (2003 Soundtrack)

First Lady Suite

  • Release: Feb. 11 (web release), Mar. 4 (store release)
  • Label: ps classics
  • Writers: Michael John LaChiusa
  • Performers: Los Angeles' Blank Theatre cast
  • Miscellaneous: The two piano arrangement will be augmented with additional instruments


  • Release: Feb.
  • Label: Original Cast Records
  • Writers: Andrew Cadiff, Josh Rubins and Peter Larson
  • Performers: Liz Callaway, Brian d'Arcy James, Rebecca Luker and Debbie Gravitte
  • Miscellaneous: This is a studio cast recording of the 1986 Off-Broadway musical


Anna Karenina - The Audio Musical

  • Release: April 1
  • Label: LML Music
  • Writers: Music and lyrics by Ralph Chicorel
  • Performers: Lorna Dallas, Andrea Burns, Brian Noonan, Kit Carson, Ron Spivak, William Michals and Paul Stolarsky
  • Miscellaneous: This is a studio album; the show - not intended for stage performance - is unrelated to the Circle in the Square musical.

A Man of No Importance

I Sing!


  • Release: TBA
  • Label: JAY Records
  • Writers: Mathew Frank (music) and Dean Bryant (book and lyrics)
  • Performers: Kerry Butler, Alison Fraser, Joshua Park, Christian Borle and David Hess
  • Miscellaneous: The album was recorded Oct. 7 and 8

Other Recordings: Renee Fleming and Bryn Terfel: Under the Stars - Decca Broadway - Feb. 11
Lauren Kennedy: Lauren Kennedy Sings Jason Robert Brown - ps classics - Feb. 11 (web release)
Linda Eder: Broadway My Way - Atlantic - Feb. 18
Melissa Errico: Blue Like That - Manhattan Records - Feb. 25

No Recording Announced:

Dance of the Vampires
Little Fish
Radiant Baby


Debbie Does Dallas

  • Release: Jan. 14
  • Label: Sh-K-Boom Records
  • Writers: Andrew Sherman, Erica Schmidt, Tom Kitt and Jonathan Callicutt
  • Performers: Sherie Rene Scott and the original Off-Broadway cast

Chicago (2002 Movie Soundtrack)

  • Release: Jan. 14
  • Label: Sony
  • Writers: John Kander and Fred Ebb
  • Performers: Renee Zellweger, Catherine Zeta-Jones, Richard Gere and the 2002 movie cast
  • Miscellaneous: The recording includes "Class," cut from the movie, and "I Move On," a new song written for the movie.

Flower Drum Song

Man of LaMancha

  • Release: Jan. 7
  • Label: RCA Victor
  • Writers: Music by Mitch Leigh, lyrics by Joe Darion
  • Performers: Brian Stokes Mitchell, Mary Elizabeth Mastrantonio, Ernie Sabella and the 2002 Broadway cast
  • Miscellaneous: The album was recorded Nov. 14

La Boheme

  • Release: Dec. 10, 2002
  • Label: DreamWorks
  • Writers: Puccini
  • Performers: The rotating cast of the 2002 Broadway production
  • Miscellaneous: This highlights recording will feature over 60 minutes of music and the rotating 2002 Broadway cast

The Prince and the Pauper

  • Release: Nov. 28, 2002
  • Label: JAY Records
  • Writers: Music and lyrics by Neil Berg, additional lyrics by Bernie Garzia
  • Performers: Original Off-Broadway cast

Harlem Song

  • Release: Nov. 26, 2002
  • Label: Columbia/Legacy
  • Writers: Daryl Waters, Zane Mark and various
  • Performers: BJ Crosby, Queen Esther, and the original Off-Broadway cast
  • Miscellaneous: The album was executive produced by Mark Krantz, and produced by George C. Wolfe, Steve Berkowitz, Zane Mark and Daryl Waters.

Little Ham

  • Release: Nov. 2002
  • Label: available exclusively at Footlight Records
  • Writers: Music by Judd Woldin, lyrics by Woldin and Richard Engquist
  • Performers: Cheryl Alexander, D'Ambrose Boyd, Venida Evans, Carmen Ruby Floyd, Jerry Gallagher, Andre Garner, Julia Lema, Kevyn Morrow, Stacey Sargeant, Joy Styles, Lee Summers, Richard Vida and Joe Wilson, Jr.
  • Miscellaneous: The recording cast varies slightly from the original Off Broadway cast

Only Heaven

  • Release: Oct. 1, 2002
  • Label: ps classics
  • Writers: Music by Ricky Ian Gordon, Words by Langston Hughes
  • Performers: Jessica Molaskey, Darius De Haas, Philip Chaffin and others
  • Miscellaneous: This live recording was made during a performance of the Muse Machine production in Dayton, OH.

The It Girl

  • Release: Oct. 1, 2002
  • Label: JAY Records
  • Writers: Music by Paul McKibbins , lyrics by BT McNicholl
  • Performers: The original 2001 Off-Broadway cast

Movin' Out

  • Release: Oct. 15, 2002
  • Label: Sony
  • Writers: Billy Joel
  • Performers: Michael Cavanaugh

Other Recordings: Les Miserables: Highlights of Broadway Cast - Decca Broadway - Jan. 28
Redhead (reissue) - Fynsworth Alley - Dec. 10
Jamie deRoy & friends — Vol. 4: Family - Harbinger Records - Dec
Love Song (various artists) - Decca Broadway - Jan. 28
Ann Hampton Callaway: This Christmas (reissue) - N-Coded/After 9 Records - Dec. 2002
Betty Buckley: The Doorway - Fynsworth Alley - Nov. 2002
Mandy Patinkin Sings Sondheim - Nonesuch - Oct. 29, 2002
Broadway Romances Manhattan - Broadway Cares - Oct. 22, 2002
Parade (Jerry Herman, reissue) - Decca Broadway - Oct. 22, 2002
Christine Andreas: Here's to the Ladies - ps classics - Oct. 15, 2002
Heather Headley: This is Who I Am - RCA - Oct. 8, 2002
Flower Drum Song (soundtrack reissue) - Decca Broadway - Sept. 24, 2002
Brent Barrett: The Kander & Ebb Album - Fynsworth Alley - Sept. 24, 2002
Megan Mullally: Big as a Berry - Fynsworth Alley - Sept. 17, 2002
Audra McDonald: Happy Songs - Nonesuch - Sept. 17, 2002
Sweet Appreciation: Rusty Magee Live at the West Bank Cafe with Rebecca Luker, Mary Testa, Alison Fraser and Lewis Black - SixFootPlus Music
Teri Bibb, Karen Culliver and Lisa Vroman: The Leading Ladies
Hollis Resnik: Make Someone Happy - M.A.M. Records
Tap Your Troubles Away (Jerry Herman salute) - LML Records
Barbara Cook: It's Beter with a Band (reissue) - DRG Records

Today’s Most Popular News: