Van Cliburn Competition Names Finalists

Classic Arts News   Van Cliburn Competition Names Finalists
The Van Cliburn Competition has announced the six pianists who will appear in its final round starting tomorrow.

The finalists are Davide Cabassi of Italy, Sa Chen of China, Chu-Fang Huang of China, Alexander Kobrin of Russia, Roberto Plano of Italy, and Joyce Yang of Korea. They range in age from 19 (Yang) to 28 (Cabassi).

Between June 1 and 5, the finalists each will perform a solo recital and a concerto with the Fort Worth Symphony. The winners will be announced at a ceremony on June 5 at 5 p.m hosted by Van Cliburn.

Medalists will receive cash prizes, recordings contracts, and engagements all over the world. The Van Cliburn Foundation and IMG Artists will provide career management in the United States and Europe, respectively.

The prestigious quadrennial competition was founded in 1962 in honor of Cliburn's victory at the first Tchaikovsky Competition in Moscow, and is held in the pianist's hometown. Previous winners include Radu Lupu, Jon Nakamatsu, and Olga Kern.

Recommended Reading: