Village Voice Announces Obie Awards Judges for 2006-07 Season

News   Village Voice Announces Obie Awards Judges for 2006-07 Season
The Village Voice has announced the judges for the 2006-2007 Obie Awards, its annual celebration of excellence in Off-Broadway theatre.

Normally, the Obie committee is chaired by the Voice's current theatre editor. But personnel upheavals at the weekly—including the recent departure of theatre editor Jorge Morales—have left the theatre pages without an exclusive editor. Joy Press currently edit the theatre coverage, as well as several other sections of the paper.

As a result, this season's committee will be chaired for the first time by longstanding Voice theatre critic Michael Feingold. Other judges include playwright-director Adam Rapp; director and writer Ain Gordon; New York Magazine theatre critic Jeremy McCarter; executive director of P.S. 122 Anne Dennin; playwright-composer Kirsten Childs; and Village Voice theatre critic Alexis Soleski. Liz Lawler will serve as the secretary to the committee.

This year will be the 52nd anniversary of the Obies, which were created in 1955 by Jerry Tallmer.

The awards ceremony will be held on May 21, 2007, in New York City.


Today’s Most Popular News: