War Horse Will Return to London’s National Theatre; Additional Season Casting Set | Playbill

Related Articles
London News War Horse Will Return to London’s National Theatre; Additional Season Casting Set The theatre’s upcoming lineup also includes Translations, Polly Stenham’s contemporary take on Miss Julie, The Lehman Trilogy, and Branden Jacobs-Jenkin’s An Octoroon.
The company of the National Theatre production of War Horse Paul Kolnik

War Horse will return to the National Theatre, where the Tony-winning play made its world premiere in 2007, later this year. The U.K. touring production will play the London venue November 8–January 5, 2019.

Vanessa Kirby Kathy Hutchins / Shutterstock

The return of the Marianne Elliot- and Tom Morris-helmed production marks the centenary of Armistice Day, remembering the soldiers of World War I (which serves as the backdrop for the drama).

The ensemble company will include Marcus Adolphy, Adam Barlow, Peter Becker, Joëlle Brabban, Lucas Button, Jasper William Cartwright, Jo Castleton, Chris Charles, Jonathan Charles, Sebastian Charles, Anna Chessher, Nicky Cross, Thomas Dennis, Bob Fox, Max Gallagher, Chris Garner, Andrew Hodges, Lewis Howard, William Ilkley, Ben Ingles, Billy Irving, Elan James, Kiran Landa, Gwilym Lloyd, Jack Lord, Stephen Love, Toyin Omari-Kinch, Samuel Parker, Tom Quinn, Domonic Ramsden, Arinder Sadhra, Tom Stacy, Elizabeth Stretton, and Simon Victor.

Following its National Theatre premiere, War Horse transferred to the West End, where it ran for seven years. The 2011 Broadway production, produced with Lincoln Center, won all five Tony Awards for which it received nominations, including Best Play and Best Direction. Handspring Puppet Company was awarded a Special Tony Award for its intricate, lifelike designs for the horses depicted in the play.


The National’s new season begins May 22 with Brian Friel’s Translations. Joining the previously announced Colin Morgan are Ciarán Hinds, Dermot Crowley, Aoife Duffin, Adetomiwa Edun, Michelle Fox, Laurence Kinlan, Seamus O’Hara, Judith Roddy, and Rufus Wright.

The Crown star Vanessa Kirby headlines Julie, a take on Strindberg’s Miss Julie from Polly Stenham. Joining her are Eric Kofi Abrefa, Thalissa Teixeira, Thomasin Gulgec, Dak Mashava, Beatriz Meireles, Michela Meazza, Ashley Morgan-Davies, Yuyu Rau, and Petra Söör.

Branden Jacobs-Jenkins’ An Octoroon will play the National’s Dorfman Theatre June 7–July 18 with a cast featuring Cassie Clare, Emmanuella Cole, Celeste Dodwell, Iola Evans, Ken Nwosu, Vivian Oparah, Alistair Toovey, Kevin Trainor, and cellist James Douglas.

As previously reported, the season will also include Ben Power’s adaptation of Steano Massini’s The Lehman Trilogy, which will star Adam Godley, Ben Miles, and Simon Russell Beale.

Recommended Reading:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!