Watch Sneak Peek of Video Charting Creation of In Transit, Broadway’s First A Cappella Musical

News   Watch Sneak Peek of Video Charting Creation of In Transit, Broadway’s First A Cappella Musical
The new musical is currently in previews at the Circle in the Square Theatre.
The creative team of In Transit Joseph Marzullo/WENN

In Transit: The Making of the First Broadway A Cappella Musical, an entertainment special about the creation of the new Broadway musical In Transit, is now airing exclusively on Xfinity On Demand through January 31, 2017. (The special is available at no additional cost to all Xfinity TV customers with access to the Xfinity On Demand platform.)

Producer Janet B. Rosen said in a statement, “We are thrilled to offer Xfinity customers this exclusive view of In Transit’s ‘commute’ to Broadway before they experience it live at Circle in the Square Theatre. It’s an honor to share a glimpse of our cast and creative teams’ personal journeys to the stage as we mark history with the first a cappella musical."

Watch a sneak peek of the special below:

The new musical, according to production notes, is described as “a funny and poignant new Broadway musical, follows the intertwined lives of 11 New Yorkers faced with the challenges of city life. With a groundbreaking a cappella score by a team including the creators of Pitch Perfect and Frozen, In Transit takes you on a journey with people hoping to catch the express train to their dreams—including the stops they make along the way. Modern yet timeless, In Transit is a story about all of us, set to music that will stay with you long after the ride is over."

With a book, music, and lyrics by Academy Award winner Kristen Anderson-Lopez, James-Allen Ford, Russ Kaplan, and Sara Wordsworth, In Transit is directed and choreographed by three-time Tony Award winner Kathleen Marshall.

The new musical stars David Abeles (Once), 2016 America’s Got Talent contestant Moya Angela (Ghost The Musical), 2012 American Beatbox Vice Champion Steven “HeaveN Beatbox” Cantor (Broadway debut), Justin Guarini (Women on the Verge of a Nervous Breakdown; American Idol), Telly Leung (Allegiance), Erin Mackey (Amazing Grace), Gerianne Pérez (Broadway debut), Margo Seibert (Rocky), Chesney Snow (Broadway debut), James Snyder (If/Then), Mariand Torres (Broadway debut), Nicholas Ward (On the Town), Adam Bashian (Broadway debut), Laurel Harris (Beautiful), Arbender Robinson (Shuffle Along), and Aurelia Williams (Broadway debut).

The new musical will officially open December 11 at Broadway’s Circle in the Square Theatre (235 West 50th Street).


Click Here to Shop for Theatre
Merchandise in the Playbill Store
Recommended Reading: