Welcome to the Sixties: McAssy and Snarski Star in Surflight's Hairspray

News   Welcome to the Sixties: McAssy and Snarski Star in Surflight's Hairspray
Michael McAssey and Amanda Snarski star in the Surflight Theatre production of the Tony-winning hit Hairspray, which runs through July 26.

Karen Babcock directs and choreographs the musical that features a Tony-winning book by Mark O'Donnell and Thomas Meehan and a Tony-winning score by Marc Shaiman (music and lyrics) and Scott Wittman (lyrics). Hairspray began performances at Surflight July 7.

McAssey portrays Edna Turnblad opposite Snarski as Tracy Turnblad with David Brent Howard as Wilbur, Danielle Westhead as Amber Von Tussel, Karyn McNay as Velma Von Tussel, Alyssa Malgeri as Penny Pingleton, Andrew Foote as Corny Collins, Debra Thais Evans as Motormouth Maybelle, Ryan Steer as Link, Jarvis B. Manning, Jr. as Seaweed, Allison Mickelson as Female Authority Figure and Matt Ban as Male Authority Figure.

Additional Hairspray cast members include Sydni Beaudoin, Jeffry Foote, Nadia Vynnytsky, Britton Smith, John Jacob Lee, Emily Grace Buck, Eric Weaver, Liberty Cogen, Emily Suzanne Franklin, Tavia Hunt, Denise Estrada, Allicia Lawson, Matt Holbert, Matty Price, Graham Keene, Devon Harris and Kara Krichman.

The Tony-winning 2003 doo-wop musical follows the zaftig Tracy Turnblad, who dances her way onto national television and helps to kick start the Civil Rights movement while she's at it.

Tickets are available by phoning (609) 492-9477 or by visiting Surflight. The Surflight Theatre is located in Beach Haven, NJ.

Today’s Most Popular News: