Wendland, Lindsay, Holder, Findlay and Sugg are Henry Hewes Design Award Winners | Playbill

News Wendland, Lindsay, Holder, Findlay and Sugg are Henry Hewes Design Award Winners
The five winners of the 44th Annual Henry Hewes Design Awards have been announced. Winners will be celebrated Dec. 12 at a Sardi's luncheon.
Katrina Lindsay
Katrina Lindsay

Ninety-five theatre artists were nominated for outstanding artistry in 62 productions presented during the 2007-2008 New York theatre season.

Honorees in four categories were announced: Scenic Design, Costume Design, Lighting Design and Notable Effects.

The honorees of the 2007-2008 season follow:

  • Scenic Design: Mark Wendland for Next to Normal (Second Stage), Richard III (Classic Stage Company) and Unconditional (Labyrinth Theater Company)


  • Costume Design: Katrina Lindsay for Les Liaisons Dangereuses (Roundabout Theatre Company)
  • Lighting Design: Donald Holder for Cyrano de Bergerac, Les Liaisons Dangereuses (Roundabout Theatre Company) and South Pacific (Lincoln Center Theater)
  • Notable Effects (Projection Design): Jim Findlay and Jeff Sugg for The Slug Bearers of Kayrol Island (Vineyard Theatre) The Awards will be presented by Scott Pask, Clint Ramos, Natasha Katz and Kevin Cunningham, all of whom were 2007 honorees.

    Originally titled the Maharam Awards and later known as the American Theatre Wing Design Awards, the awards were renamed in 1999 to honor founder Henry Hewes.

    The Henry Hewes Design Awards Committee comprised theatre critics Jeffrey Eric Jenkins, chair; Dan Bacalzo; David Barbour; David Cote; Tish Dace; Glenda Frank; Mario Fratti; and Joan Ungaro.


    The nominees for the 44th Annual Henry Hewes Awards follow.

    Scenic Design
    Allen Moyer, From Up Here
    David Korins, Hunting and Gathering
    David Korins, Pumpgirl
    David Korins, The Receptionist
    David Zinn, The Four of Us
    Derek McLane, Rafta, Rafta
    James Noone, Come Back, Little Sheba
    Jan Versweyveld, The Misanthrope
    John Lee Beatty, Mauritius
    Klara Zieglerova, The Farnsworth Invention
    Mark Wendland, Next to Normal
    Mark Wendland, Richard III
    Mark Wendland, Unconditional
    Michael Yeargan, South Pacific
    Mimi Lien, Queens Boulevard (the musical)
    Peter J. Davison, Is He Dead?
    Peter Ksander, Untitled Mars (This Title May Change)
    Ray Klausen, Cat on a Hot Tin Roof
    Robin Wagner, Young Frankenstein
    Sandra Goldmark, Crossing Brooklyn
    Santo Loquasto, Trumpery
    Scott Bradley, Eurydice
    Scott Pask, Les Liaisons Dangereuses
    Takeshi Kata, Adding Machine
    Todd Rosenthal, August: Osage County
    Tom Pye, Top Girls
    Zach Zirlin, Blind Mouth Singing

    Costume Design
    Alvin Colt, Forbidden Broadway: Rude Awakening
    Anita Yavich, Iphigenia 2.0
    Catherine Zuber, Cry-Baby
    Catherine Zuber, South Pacific
    Christal Weatherly, Queens Boulevard (the musical)
    Clint Ramos, Edward II
    David C. Woolard, The Farnsworth Invention
    Emilio Sosa, The Misanthrope
    Gail Cooper-Hecht, Morning Star
    Gregory Gale, Cyrano de Bergerac
    Jane Greenwood, Trumpery
    Jess Goldstein, Cymbeline
    Jess Goldstein, The Homecoming
    Katrina Lindsay, Les Liaisons Dangerueses
    Mara Blumenfeld, The Glorious Ones
    Martin Pakledinaz, Gypsy
    Michael Bottari, Ronald Case and Jessica Jahn, Die, Mommie, Die!
    Oana Botez-Ban, Untitled Mars (This Title May Change)
    Suzy Benzinger, The Seagull
    Theresa Squire, Rafta, Rafta
    Willa Kim, Adrift in Macao
    William Ivey Long, The New Century

    Lighting Design
    Ann G. Wrightson, August: Osage County
    Brian H. Scott, Hotel Cassiopeia
    Brian MacDevitt, The Receptionist
    Brian MacDevitt, The Seagull
    Daniel Meeker, Rock Doves
    David Weiner, Pumpgirl
    David Weiner, The Overwhelming
    Donald Holder, Cyrano de Bergerac
    Donald Holder, Les Liaisons Dangereuses
    Donald Holder, South Pacific
    Howell Binkley, Cry-Baby
    Howell Binkley, Gypsy
    Howell Binkley, The Farnsworth Invention
    Howell Binkley, Xanadu
    James F. Ingalls, Trumpery
    Jason Lyons, Rafta, Rafta
    Justin Townsend, Opus
    Keith Parham, Adding Machine
    Mark Barton, The Sound and the Fury
    Natasha Katz, The Little Mermaid
    Pat Collins, From Up Here
    Russell H. Champa, Eurydice

    Notable Effects
    (Notable Effects Nominations—Production Design)
    Watoku Ueno (scenery, lighting, shadow image), Makoto Takeuchi (shadow image), Luba Kierkosz (costumes), After the Rain
    Peter Ksander (scenery), Ramona Ponce (costumes), Miranda K. Hardy (lighting), Kristin Worrall (sound), The Cenci
    Neil Patel (scenery), James Schuette (costumes), Brian H. Scott (lighting), Darron L. West (sound), Greg King (projections), Hotel Cassiopeia

    (Notable Effects Nominations—Individuals)
    Allen Moyer (handcraft design), The New Century
    Dan Moses Schreier (sound design), Gypsy
    David Korins (trick floor), Drunken City
    David Valentine (puppet design), Fight Girl Battle World
    Janie Geiser and Susan Simpson (production design), Frankenstein (Mortal Toys)
    Jill BC DuBoff (sound design), Umbrella
    Jim Findlay and Jeff Sugg (projection design), The Slug Bearers of Kayrol Island
    Jorge Cousineau (sound design), Opus
    Joseph Fosco (sound design), The Conversation
    Kevin Augustine (puppet design), Bride
    Kevin Cunningham (production design) and Jeff Morey (video design), Fire Island
    Kirjan Waage (puppet design), Fabrik - The Legend of M. Rabinowitz
    Marc Brickman (special effects), Young Frankenstein
    Miklos Buk and Balázs Vajna (video design), Untitled Mars (This Title May Change)
    Obadiah Eaves (sound design), Trumpery
    Ralph Lee (puppet design), The Puppetmaster of Lodz
    Reid Farrington (video design), Hamlet
    Scott Lehrer (sound design), South Pacific
    Sven Ortel (video design), The Little Mermaid
    Tal Yarden (video design), The Misanthrope
    Zen Mansley and Candice Burridge (puppet design), The System of Dr. Tarr and Professor Fether

  • Click Here to Shop for Theatre
    Merchandise in the Playbill Store
    Today’s Most Popular News:

    Blocking belongs
    on the stage,
    not on websites.

    Our website is made possible by
    displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    Please consider supporting us by
    whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
    Thank you!