West Side Story Cast Album Wins Grammy Award | Playbill

Related Articles
News West Side Story Cast Album Wins Grammy Award The new Broadway cast recording of West Side Story won the 2010 Grammy Award as Best Musical Show Album at the Jan. 31 Grammy Awards, celebrating excellence in the recording industry.
West Side Story stars Josefina Scaglione and Matt Cavenaugh
West Side Story stars Josefina Scaglione and Matt Cavenaugh Photo by Joan Marcus

Sony Masterworks' West Side Story was produced by David Caddick & David Lai. Leonard Bernstein composed; Stephen Sondheim penned the lyrics.

When it opened, the current hit revival of West Side Story, now at the Palace Theatre, included several musical sequences sung in Spanish, and this idea was preserved on the cast album. "I Feel Pretty" became "Me Siento Hermosa," "A Boy Like That" became "Un Hombre Asi." (The translation was by Tony Award winner Lin-Manuel Miranda.) Director Arthur Laurents later restored the original English lyrics to the staging, although a hint of the Spanish was retained.

The cast album category was announced in the Grammys pre-telecast, which began at 4 PM (ET). The main 52nd Annual Grammy Awards will be presented 8-11 PM (ET) Jan. 31 at the Staples Center in Los Angeles. It will be broadcast on CBS-TV.

The hit revival's original cast included Matt Cavenaugh (A Catered Affair, Grey Gardens) as Tony, Karen Olivo (In the Heights) as Anita, Cody Green (Movin' Out) as Riff and George Akram ("Stuck on You") as Bernardo. Twenty-one-year-old Argentinean actress Josefina Scaglione, who created the role of Amber Von Tussle in the Argentinean production of Hairspray, co-stars as Maria.

The West Side Story tracklist follows: Prologue
Jet Song
Something's Coming
Dance at the Gym
One Hand, One Heart
Tonight (Quintet)
The Rumble
Me Siento Hermosa (I Feel Pretty)
Gee, Officer Krupke
Un Hombre Así (A Boy Like That)/I Have a Love

Visit www.sonymasterworks.com.

The nominees in the Best Musical Show Album category this year also included:

Ain't Misbehavin'
Robert Sher, producer (Various, composer; Various, lyricist) (30th Anniversary Cast Recording With Ruben Studdard, Frenchie Davis & Others) [Rhino]

Noah Cornman, Kurt Deutsch, Joel Moss & Steve Norman, producers (Galt MacDermot, composer; James Rado & Gerome Ragni, lyricists) (New Broadway Cast With Sasha Allen, Gavin Creel & Others) [Razor & Tie Entertainment/Ghostlight Records]

9 To 5 The Musical
Frank Filipetti, Stephen Oremus and Dolly Parton, producers; Dolly Parton, composer; Dolly Parton, lyricist (Original Broadway Cast With Allison Janney, Stephanie J. Block, Megan Hilty & Others) [Dolly Records/Artist2Market Distribution]

Shrek The Musical
Peter Hylenski & Jeanine Tesori, producers; Jeanine Tesori, composer; David Lindsay-Abaire, lyricist (Original Broadway Cast With Brian d'Arcy James, Sutton Foster & Others) [Decca Broadway]

For a complete list of Grammy nominees and winners, visit www.grammy.com.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!